We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Priceline
US$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Official SiteUS$166
Hotels.comUS$176
FindHotelUS$271
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
50
100
86
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
100
86
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aspects restaurant mcdonald hotels breakfast service modern hotel leisure centre bed and breakfast check in was quick wee break buffet style evening meal both nights breakfast was excellent short break cinema giovanni highlands hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

We spent a very comfortable two nights dinner ,bed and breakfast at the Morlich hotel. Our room was small but good offering a super king size very comfortable bed and a great en-suite shower room. We ate in the hotels Italian restaurant one night and in the neighbouring Aspects restaurant the second night. Both meals were good and waiter service was excellent. Buffet breakfast was as expected with a full range of hot and cold food on offer. The optional porridge was rather bland and not to be recommended. I would happily return to the Morlich for another short break.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dugsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raf Grzemski , General Manager at Macdonald Morlich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2021

Hi dugsmum,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review as we really appreciate it! We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I will make sure to pass on your kind comments back to my colleagues. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2021

We stayed here in August 2020 so a tad late in writing our reviews but better late than never!

It was just as tourism had opened up and challenging for everyone but they did a good job of managing guests whilst we were there as best as they could.

The hotel was nice but compared to other hotels we stayed at during our month-long road trip in Scotland it was not the best or near the best sadly as we expected so much more given the brand and reputation.

But this may now have changed as things have opened up, what we can say is that the staff were lovely. There was one gentleman on the front desk and when we said we got married a few weeks before he put a note under our door the next day with some chocolates wishing us congratulations which was so lovely.

We would stay again if everything was open and the location is really good with lots to see and do.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inwanderment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2021

Our stay at the Morlich was good. Pleasant staff and the food was good. We did, however, go over to the main hotel for dinner during our stay. The food was amazing, but the service was not. There was a wait for drinks, as there was one girl behind the bar trying to service the full restaurant, lounge & clear & clean glasses. We were eating our starters when the waiter brought our main course - then stood behind us, waiting for us to finish eating - we felt very rushed, even though the restaurant was only half full. In the morning the breakfast buffet was lovely, however, on morning two there were no plates & it took some time to track down a member of staff to rectify this.
Enjoyable enough stay, but definate staffing & training issues.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmcdowall16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

Beware of Breakfast at the Weekend

This is advertised as 'perfect for couples looking for a romantic break', but they forget to tell you that you will be joined for breakfast by every family from the cabins (and there are a LOT of cabins). 

Not very romantic at all: noisy, queues out the door and not Covid-safe in any way.  Never seen anything like it !  We fled back to the safety of our room ...

Although they appear to have enough staff, the restaurant and hotel reception area are just not big enough for the number of people.  However, the situation could be completely avoided with better planning. 

It would seem that this resort is trying to make economies at the expense of its guests.

If you can put up with all that, then it's a lovely hotel with nice rooms and comfortable beds.  All the staff we met were lovely too and trying their best in very difficult circumstances.

Will not be staying there again, despite being a long time Macdonald Hotel customer, as the management did not seem keen to change anything.

After a lot of pushing we may be getting the cost of breakfast refunded, but it really should be the whole amount as it thoroughly spoiled our stay. 

Expected better.

Room tip: Avoid weekends or go to breakfast really early
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WarwickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it, so looked forward to our return. The room was nice and clean,staff pleasant and an easy walk into town. We had our evening meal in the Aspects restaraunt and the food was good. When we went to breakfast in the morning, we were surprised to find that it was self serve buffet with everyone using the same utensils to get their food. This is not Covid secure! We also mentioned last year that they needed hand sanitiser by the lifts as they are common touch points, but there is still none there. It is a good place to stay but they need to review their covid measures. We are currently staying at another Macdonald hotel in a different part of Scotland and they do not have their buffet open, it is table service.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie23dall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews