We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good hotel in Thurso”
Review of Holborn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holborn Hotel
Ranked #19 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night when I was working nearby. It is conveniently located in central Thurso and has free wi-fi, a bar and a restaurant. My room was simple but fine, although there were no batteries in the TV remote. The restaurant had stopped serving food when I arrived (just after 9pm) but there was a good Indian restaurant next door so I was happy.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank JonKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Hotel is run down and could do with a lick of paint. Room was clean enough and shower was decent, apart from this there is not many other positives I can give. My partner and I had the worst sleep and barely slept a wink as the bed was so uncomfortable. Judging by the rest of the décor, the mattresses are probably well in need of upgrading and the pillows are cheap and thin too. Breakfast took half an hour form ordering and when it came what was left of the egg (after a bad case of poaching) was overdone and like rubber. My partner and I were both running late for work because of the late breakfast. At £90 per night this hotel was well over priced, I wouldn't pay £40 for it. Shame as I am in thurso often for work and had this hotel been decent I would have returned often.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

All traits I like in a woman, but not in a breakfast.

40 mins to get served, sausage was undercooked, table was slimey, had to grab milk from another table, and there was a hair in the mushrooms.

On a positive it had a nice shower.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed here 9th July 2016 whilst on the 500 North Coast tour. Room very disappointing. In much need of a makeover and a clean as the top of the door was thick with dust. No staff on reception evenings or mornings so couldn't complain. My husband had a beer in the bar but was very watery and disgusting. Will not be staying here again. This was the worst hotel of the tour. And to top it all off there was a live band playing in the bar 10 til late so didn't get much sleep.Absolutely DREADFUL. I DO NOT recommend this hotel. Very small carpark opposite for 5 cars. Ok if you park on the end near road no room to manouvre if you park further in the carpark.

Room Tip: Don't recommend anyone stays here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliwill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I came to the Holborn Hotel with my family, we were looking forward to a nice meal out. Unfortunately we were not impressed with the food we received. Almost £5 for 2 haggis balls and some mashed potato when you can get a full plate on nachos for almost the same price. Then for our mains one family member ordered the haddock for almost £11 what came out of the kitchen was worth a fiver at most. We complained about the fish and got the response that there was nothing that could be done as the size of the fish was outwith their control. The piece of fish we received looked like the fish served as their fish Friday deal. We were very dissapointed in this meaning that the family member who ordered the food had to then have another main meal to fill his hunger. I feel this restaurant/bar is very overpriced for average food. The menu could do with a change and include new dishes.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank madhatterukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
0.6 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
252 reviews
10.8 km away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
54 reviews
7.5 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#8 of 9 in Thurso
179 reviews
8.1 km away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
311 reviews
24.1 km away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holborn Hotel

Address: 16 Princes Street, Thurso KW14 7BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range: $123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holborn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the town centre this 7 bedroom, family run hotel offers modern, comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation. All rooms recently renovated with en-suite shower, TV, tea/coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing