We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melrose Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$193
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$224
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Culloden House(Inverness)
US$367
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
18
19
16
13
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
19
16
13
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot toastminutes walk awaybed was comfortablehigh streethome from homeb and byogurtthe riverkennyhost
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights here while we toured the highlands in the room with 3 twin beds.

The pros of this B&B would be the location. It was a quick walk to town which was a nice plus.

-while others complained the wifi did not work in their room, it worked in ours which was on the 2nd floor.

The cons:
-the beds were VERY uncomfortable. The springs were very noticeable when you laid down, and the sheets were rough. Our room severely needed new mattresses.

-we followed the instructions posted in the bathroom that towels placed in the shower were to be replaced. We came back at the end of the day to find our wet towels from the shower floor neatly hung and not replaced. Made us wonder what other short cuts had been taken.

-breakfast was fine, some cereals laid out with some meat and cheeses in packages. Along with some packaged rolls. Coffee was brought to each table in a French press, along with some wheat and white toast. Some fruit was available as well as juices.

Overall it was a place to stay, but we will not be returning anytime soon.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Abbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

When we arrived were greeted by a gentleman (I assume the owner) asking who booked the rooms? (We had booked 2 rooms for 5 of us, 4 adults and one 7 yr old) I said we both did as 2 separate reservations, he then told us that we obviously didn't read the page, stating that children under 12 were not allowed. I said, no I am sure it didn't state that on the site we booked on (Hotels.com), and he insisted that it did, and was rather rude and said "well, too late now." I later went back to check, not only does it not say that, it actually states that children under 8 stay free with an adult. The rooms were ok, small as expected, but the double bed was so old and uncomfortable that the springs were pushing through the last bit of material on the mattress left. The whole place needs some cleaning, upgrades and general maintenance. Breakfast was a nightmare, skip this! It was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen anyone present. He had a basket of cheese and meats in the packages and you were to open them and help yourself. Some of the meat and cheese were so old that there was actually mold growing on some of them. We checked out and marked that as the worst experience ever.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank CJM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

A friendly greeting and a B and B that looked like home. The house was charming and looked as if it was well loved. My room for 1 was en suite and coffee facilities were in the room. The main road was a bit noisy but not a problem. The proprietor was helpful with directions to the town center which was only 5 minutes walk away. Breakfast was good. Hot toast and a pot of tea or coffee. Help yourself to cereal, fruit, cheese. Parking was an issue after 0800 but there was a system worked out so all was well. As the location was so good and the price was fair I think this was a great place to stay. If you are looking for room service a hotel would be a better option.

Room Tip: rooms away from the main street
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank vintagechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

First impressions were to be barked at by the owner demanding our bank card. No assistance with luggage despite being in our nineties. No en suite as per our reservation. No cooked breakfast. 'Continental' breakfast was cornflakes. Vastly overpriced. I hate to think what foreign visitors think of Scotland if they have the misfortune to pick this filthy pile to spend the night in. Shameful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

lied about being en suite // no cooked breakfast // no service for anything // no help given to senior citizens to carry luggage up to attic room with forty steps access // shared toilet on top landing // shared bathroom on lower ground floor // continental breakfast on ground floor with only kettle in bedroom back upstairs to attic bedroom // dismal and grimy unattractive surroundings // most obnoxious proprietor who demanded a form to be filled in and money paid prior to handing over of key on stepping in the door // paid almost fifty pounds for each of us two (£95) // worst 'bed and breakfast' in our long entire life. He doesn't deserve to be allowed in this type of business and he should be ostracised if at all possible,

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takeartron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews