We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveller rating
526
778
445
183
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
778
445
183
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsash restauranttrain stationgrand staircaselimited parkingcentral locationhospitality traytwin roomnight breakbuffet breakfastpublic areasbiscuitsbottled waterhotel restaurantlocation is excellentshort breaktea and coffeehaggis
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been returning to the Royal Highland Hotel for a few years now to enjoy regular mid week breaks. We bought a two nights B&B deal which included dinner on one of the two nights. Exceptional value, comfortable bedroom and good sized bathroom with plenty of quality towels and toiletries.
Well stocked hospitality tray is also provided. All staff friendly and welcoming from Reception, Ash Restaurant and breakfast room. Extensive menu to choose from and food well presented and delicious. Even though the restaurant was very busy, a special mention to Krystal for giving us personal attention and for her calm, efficient and charming manner.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words we will pass this on to the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in Nov 2017. Location and staff were superb but accommodation was poor - decor old, beds creaky, lift takes forever to come etc. My first room was 106 and it was a single room adjoined to another. As the noise from through the joining door was atrocious, l requested to move. My next rooms was a single on 3rd floor (328 maybe?) which was better. Worse view but no noise and it had a bath as opposed to a shower cubicle. Some nice touches in room like biscuits, tea, shower toiletries (no hair conditioner though) Breakfast had a good selection although the room reminded me of a canteen! Wouldn't stay here again as l have had better accommodation in Inverness. That being said, if your looking for convenience for the train station then you can't get better!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cleasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your comments, as an historical property all rooms differ in layout and we apologise if the 1st room was noisy, however the 3rd floor rooms are quieter as you mentioned .
We are glad that you felt staff and location was good and hope you may return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Great wee break away :-)
On arrival , Louise the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful , from giving us directions to nearby attractions to making sure we were happy with our room and had all we needed. A big thank you must also be given to Gail Rose , you are an asset to the hotel ! So friendly and nothing was a bother
Rooms were as expected , they don't advertise being 5 star so don't expect it so

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 276bigj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you we have passed comments to the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Stayed here with my wife for two nights on the 10th and 11th November the Room was very clean and cosy. Most of the staff were great and really helpful there was a girl called Louise on reception who was really helpful and made sure we had everything we needed ,On arrival we received vouchers for a two course meal for two in the restaurant a free bottle of house wine and a high Tea for two which made the stay really good value for money. The food in the Ash restaurant was really good and the buffet breakfast was great . We will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big_boycie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your comments we have passed this onto the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Good location with some parking spaces. The lobby was beautiful, our room was nice too. We just had to get the staff to join our beds, as we booked a double but they only had two singles. The service was poor, they were not very friendly and seemed disgruntled that I wanted to sleep in the same bed as my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KristinaB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your comments, we have rooms with zip and link beds which form King size and where room type has not been specified on booking we are able to join to make a double when required, and a member of the team will do so on request.
We are glad you enjoyed our location and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews