We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$273
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$213
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
520
766
433
175
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
766
433
175
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsash restauranttrain stationgrand staircasetraditional hotellimited parkingcentral locationtwin roomhospitality traynight breakfirst floorbuffet breakfastpublic areasbiscuitscar parkingbottled waterlocation is excellentshort break
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We stayed here again this week for the 4th time. Everything was perfect. The room was great and the staff were all friendly and helpful from reception, restaurant and the breakfast team. The food was also really good. We hope to go back soon for another leisurely and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVSSouthCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst on business. Good points:
Lovely lobby
Polite receptionist
Werther's originals in the bedroom

Not so good points:
Cold room
Paper thin walls (woke up at 5am thinking I was sharing a shower with the next door occupant so close through the wall was the shower unit)
Breakfast ok, but atmosphere in dining room was that of a lively morgue.

Would I stay again? No. Back to the trusty Premier Inn.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank scotslass318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your review, we have noted your points and remedial action will be taken where appropriate and we hope you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The hotel is located central to all travel options. The staff were fab especially the waiting staff in restaurant they were so helpful made us feel so welcome.
The food and cocktails were lush.
Will certainly be back. Rooms clean good facilities for the price some areas may need modernising but for age and style of hotel not a issue as price for city hotel was fab

Room Tip: Think there are some rooms that are small so if you like space the hotel will oblige
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your review we hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Room was tidy and probably recently painted but general decor and furniture leaves a bit to be desired. Our double beded room had two four foot singles pushed together with an ‘uninviting’ gap between them making it a double bed but both were made up with tight bedding as singles. The TV would not work on many channels and no BBC channels. The hotel ‘handyman’ did try various ways to make system work but we were left with 11channels and most were rubbish. Now it would not normally bother us but on a very wet Friday November night in Inverness we should have got what we paid for which included multi channel TV in room. Breakfast selection was very good though the cooked food was on the cool side.
Shower in bathq not very easy to access and operate if getting a little old and creaky like us!
No apology at reception regarding three complaints re TV when we left. Receptionist did say ‘hope to see you back again’!

Room Tip: Check room and TV before you unpack.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CathelAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your comments, we have taken note and remedial action will be taken as neccessary.
We have introduced zip and link beds in many rooms which form King size however we have noted comments regarding bedding as we would normally have King size sheets and it may have been an oversight when connecting beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This hotel should be avoided as it is run down and just not very nice! But more importantly, whilst booking I established they did not have a robust process for MANAGING YOUR BANK CARD DETAILS.

My CVV (three digit code on the back of your card) was entered when I booked my pay in advance room. They did not process this booking so after 24 hours the CVV number disappears from their system. When finally processing the booking a week or so later they believed that it was suitable to email me a request to send it to them.

With the lack of security that a web email address provides this request was flatly declined but after about 60 minutes of discussing it on the phone with the Revenue Manager and the Hotel Manager I was told I must provide the CVV code again otherwise they could not guarantee the booking. They would also not allow me to cancel it. How ridiculous is that?!

Not only is sending an email to request a CVV totally unsuitable, it took me 60 minutes of asking questions about their processes for them to realise what had happened.

On arrival, I was given a very small room with the heating on full blast and no way of keeping a window open (faulty mechanism). I requested a different room, which was provided – it had not toiletries.

This hotel is run down and run badly.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHighlandHotel, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

thank you for your comments, we have noted and appropriate action has been taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews