We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
598
138
47
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
598
138
47
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden bonnie prince charlie afternoon tea beautiful hotel the general manager clava cairns scones battle scotland lounge castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2021 via mobile

Wow! Whether you are a history buff or a connoisseur of exceptional service, Culloden House is right for you! The grounds are beautiful and the “secret garden” is a real treat. The rooms are spacious, spotless and very well appointed. The restaurant serves a variety of high quality local specialties and we found everything to be delicious and beautifully presented. Every member of staff we met went above and beyond to exceed our expectations. The hospitality is extremely professional and at the same time, very friendly and welcoming. This is a true first-class hotel.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank luckyclovers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

Work team lunch. Lovely experience from the welcome at the front door of this beautiful hotel until we left.the staff are very efficient and friendly. The food was superb, would certainly come back for a special occasion and am looking forward to our work Christmas lunch here.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2021

This is a treasure of a place. Room was lovely and breakfasts and dinners delicious. The service was an impossible to train mix of skilled, kind, gently humorous, and very personal. The area is fascinating and you truly are living in history.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2021 via mobile

I recently posted a poor review highlighting the jaded nature of our room including photographs as evidence. I made a point that the staff service was excellent and the standard of our evening meal was very high. The issue was that as we had paid over £300 per night we did not think that the accommodation was value for money.
Since writing the review I have received a personal email from Stephen Davies the General Manager and he completely accepted the review as accurate and apologised without reservation. He gave a full account of the experience of the Hotel throughout COVID and included further information concerning the health of the owner over the period in question. He has immediately launched a refurbishment of the room fixing all the issues that I identified, providing written evidence.
In agreeing that we had paid a high rate for the substandard accommodation he has agreed a more suitable tariff for our stay.
So often you read defensive responses from the owners, it is pleasing to see an example of excellent service matching that the we received whilst staying at the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ian190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2021

Wow.. what a magnificent and stunning house as you are driving up the impressive grounds. A very warm welcome from Fiona who showed us thru to the lounge for afternoon tea. The sofas were so comfortable and the room was warm and inviting. Linen napkins, silver service and the most delicious afternoon tea. The sausage and black pudding roll was amazing and so tasty. Scones, cream, jam and strawberries, The cake stands was an array of tempting treats... my ultimate favourite was the lychee and pomegranate panna cotta with champagne jelly in glass dishes with lovely dainty spoons... I said to my husband... you won’t enjoy this.... I was hoping he would pass... only so I could get his too. Wow the flavours and the taste. We were also looked after by Kyle who mentioned the history and brought us a couple of books to chill,out with whilst enjoying our treats. Amazing, friendly and incredible staff who make you feel so special and so welcome. This is definitely one hotel that we are going to visit regularly. Lunch next, then evening meal.... oh and thinking of doing an overnight stay. Everything was perfect. Oh, forgot to say, we were impressed with the price for afternoon tea... it’s now our favourite.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57Andrea1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews