We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, could have been cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bridge Street Apartments
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Great location in centre of Inverness; is not overlooking the river but is close to the river. Property could have been cleaner, feedback left on departure so hopefully this has improved for other guests.
Organisation to meet to collect keys etc. was well planned with clear instructions.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

I am quite an experienced traveller and have stayed in all kinds of accommodation. And I would like to think I am quite an objective reviewer on Trip Advisor. So I am submitting this review for the Bridge Street Apartments in Inverness.

I will begin with the positives. This flat is centrally located and is cheaper than other local serviced flats. It is spacious enough for two people. It has a small living room with a tv, a small balcony, toilet, utility room with washer, small kitchen with a dishwasher, double bedroom and a bathroom with bath/shower. There is a lift available. There is no safe.

Unfortunately there was no owner or manager on site. Communication was via text. The arrangements for keys and payment were challenging because of this. The owner asked for cash payment which I found dubious. Our contact was a "friend" at a local restaurant who harassed us for payment even though the arrangements had not been made clear, and treated us as criminals attempting to escape payment which I have never nor would ever do.

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay in this apartment. The ventilation is poor and there is no air conditioning. Even with the door open on the balcony there was little air circulation. There is also no ventilation in the bathroom.

The shower leaks water all over the floor. There is a side panel on the bath that kept falling off whenever you shut the door. The shower was not clean with mildew and dirty grout. And (I know this is an unusual comment) but where they store the toilet paper causes it to have an extremely unpleasant odour of vomit. We had to go and buy our own toilet paper, Kleenex, shampoo, hand soap and shower gel. Shampoo and shower gel was not provided. Also, the linen was of poor quality, small and coarse.

The bed has to be one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. It was very hard and you could feel springs popping through. I had a sore back every morning.

Part of staying in the town centre is the noise from nearby clubs. And you can hear this easily because you will have to have the windows open due to the poor ventilation.

The general housekeeping leaves much to be desired with dust, cobwebs and bugs evident.

So I would recommend you pay more money and stay where my friends stayed at some lovely flats just up the road across from McDonald's.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alba8608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Unit 405 was spacious and well appointed. We were met by Gisela, the owner, who showed us around and got us well oriented.

This was about midway through a 2 week trip in Scotland and it was such a pleasure to relax in this lovely apartment, get some laundry done and enjoy some down time to sit on the couch, watch a movie and have a snack and a glass of wine from the fridge.

Secure parking, great location right on the Ness River and just a quick walk from the Tesco supermarket (5 minutes). It is also just across the bridge from Rocpool, arguably the finest restaurant in Inverness.

This apartment would be a great location for a longer stay as it is a great base for exploring the surrounding region. It is close to the Black Isle, the Speyside distilleries and it is smack dab in the center of Inverness, a very cool city!

Would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Gisela!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

These apartments couldn't be more centrally located; they are right by the Ness and convenient for all the amenities in town. They may be self-catering but I don't think the owners really expect you to eat in a lot; the cooking utensils provided are adequate, but no more, which is no problem because Inverness is blessed with many excellent value restaurants. The heating is night storage and the day we arrived (in December) it was freezing, because it hadn't been turned on the night before - a big mistake when there's no other source of instant heat! It also took us 2 hours, no kidding, to find the on-off switch on the TV, because it had been carefully hidden underneath the front of the console, a black switch on a black ground... But once sorted, the place was warm and comfortable and it was easy to get clothes washed and dried. Above all, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SMBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Luxurious apartment, very clean and airy. Great amenities. Almost perfect! We stayed in apartment 401.....it looked out back of apartments....mostly a cream coloured wall (side of the apartment block)....if owner were to put some trellis around the balcony it would enhance the view 100%. We only found one drawback.....getting in and out of the apartment. Sadly there was only one key-card for entry into the garage, one key for the downstairs front entrance and one key for the apartment. This was a huge problem for us as there were times my husband and I wanted to do our 'own' thing...him more sightseeing whilst I did some shopping but we always had to meet up 'before' heading back to the apartment as there was no instruction left on how to use the front entry/intercom system. My husband actually locked himself out of the building just as we were getting prepared to leave the accommodation! He'd left the apartment to go down to the garage to load our car up with some of our luggage....but forgot to take the key-card with him. Once in the garage he couldn't get back into the building from there as no key-card! Also no signal on his mobile from the garage! He let himself out of the garage and went to the front entrance and called my mobile but i'd forgotten to take my mobile off 'silent'!!!! Oops! So he had to wait until someone was entering the building to get back in! This wouldn't have happened if we'd had two sets of keys/key-cards. Apart from that comedy of errors though, we loved our stay in this beautiful apartment and hope to return. Alison Nugent.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AlisonMcT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Black Isle Rooms
Black Isle Rooms
#23 of 53 in Inverness
16 reviews
0.2 km away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#40 of 233 in Inverness
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
297 reviews
16 km away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
795 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Street Apartments

Address: By the Bridge Bridge Street, Inverness IV1 1HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Inverness
Price Range: $140 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our luxurious 4 star apartments in Inverness, capital of the Highlands of Scotland. Enjoy the central location, free secure parking and free wireless internet.405 is a two bedroom apartment, has stylish open plan living area with kitchen, diner, lounge and French doors leading to a balcony, en suite shower and additional separate bathroom.401 is a one bedroom apartment, cosy and compact with kitchen, diner and sitting area, plenty of light and extensive balcony, en suite bath/shower and additional toilet.Each apartment has fully equipped kitchen including oven, microwave, dishwasher and washer /dryer in the utility room.Situated on the banks of the River Ness and next to the castle you are in the heart of the city with a wide variety of shops and an excellent choice of restaurants, cafes and bars; yet set back from the main street, you will enjoy the tranquillity and the view over the river and city to the hills in the distance.For business visits or holidays – stay in a luxurious riverside apartment that would leave you wanting to stay longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bridge Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Street Apartments Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing