We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 20yr revisit to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atherstone Guest House
Ranked #38 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

10min. walk to the city centre inc. Resturaunts, Theatres and Shops, quiet residential area with off street parking.The room was excellent, well appointed, comfortable, family very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

This B&B was booked as part of a Heart of Scotland tour so we didn't know what to expect until we arrived. We were not disappointed in the choice in any way. Ruth was a perfect host, the room was comfortable and well equipped including free Wi-Fi. Ruth really was a delight and recommended places to go for dinner (we had arrived late on a Friday evening), even phoning a likely restaurant to see what time a table might be available. We had a really good night's sleep. Our only disappointment was that no cooked breakfast was offered (we would have expected to pay extra for this though) but the continental buffet on offer was extensive. Our only regret about staying here was that it was only for one night. We would certainly stay here if we ever return to Inverness (albeit unlikely) and recommend this B&B to any prospective visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We loved staying at Atherstone Guest House! We were booked for two nights in the family room through Heart of Scotland Tours. Just lovely people and would stay there again without the tour booking. Very accommodating and great recommendations for dinner. It's just a stone's throw from the River Ness and a walk across the River is downtown Inverness. All in all a lovely place. And just a heads up: they prefer cash, so be prepared. Our deal was good and again the service excellent, so I did not mind.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank djbswett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I (unfortunately!) only got to stay one night at Atherstone Guest House, on an overnight stay in Inverness on a tour; my accommodation was booked for me by Heart of Scotland Tours, and it was exactly what I would have chosen for myself! Ruth is warm and friendly, and her guest house reflects her personality; I had a gorgeous, well appointed room right at the top of the stairs, and the carpets are so thick that I never heard anyone walk past my door...it was the best night of sleep of my entire holiday! The property is in a quiet residential street, an easy 5 minute walk to the River Ness, and to the restaurants, shops and attractions of Inverness. A lovely fresh breakfast is ready for you in the morning, thanks to Ruth's organised system of taking your menu request the evening before. I very much hope to get back to Atherstone Guest House and Inverness one day soon for a longer visit, I highly recommend both for their overwhelmingly gracious hospitality!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SCA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I spent two nights at Atherstone through Heart of Scotland tours. Hosts were lovely and helpful, continental breakfast was good (and the special salmon and cream cheese tarts were delicious!), and the room I had was clean, spacious, and charmingly decorated. The house is located on a quiet residential street but is within easy walking distance to Inverness city center and some supermarkets. There is also free WiFi. The mattress in my room could perhaps use a thicker mattress pad, but being an easy sleeper, I didn't have any trouble getting two restful nights' sleep. Overall a great stay at Atherstone. Tip: I'm not sure this is always the policy, but we were required to pay for our accommodation in cash.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LizTiff09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 km away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#10 of 234 in Inverness
529 reviews
0.9 km away
Bannerman Bed and Breakfast
Bannerman Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 234 in Inverness
335 reviews
0.9 km away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 234 in Inverness
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
297 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
15.6 km away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherstone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherstone Guest House

Address: 42 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $55 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Atherstone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherstone Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing