We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Prime location is a great advantage particularly as many of the day tours depart from right in front of the hotel. Friendly staff at the reception, restaurant and the bar ensured that if we come back we will definitely prefer this property. Very nice breakfast spread was offered. One drawback was that there was no view of the River Ness from the room. Also, there were some stairs in the corridors which inconvenienced us badly as we had to haul our luggage across them while checking in and checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the River Ness. If you are lucky you may get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hazraavijit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our team friendly and you enjoyed our location. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a river ness view however I am sure if our Reception team were aware they would have looked to see if we had any available front facing rooms. We are apologise about the luggage difficulties. Next time you stay please do take up the offer of luggage assistance as we can transport your luggage to and from your room.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel is nice locations. Great view of the castle and not to far from the shops, but that's it. Was hoping for a great view of the river, but nope. Room was okay. My sister and my room was separated way always from my mom and aunt's room. Breakfast was okay. Nothing too special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. If you had booked a front facing room then this would have been allocated. We would need to investigate your comments if you had booked a front facing room or a standard. If you requested your rooms to be together then we are sorry that our team failed to honour this. We will look into it to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you were able to bring this to our Duty Managers attention at the time as they could have tried to change your rooms if we had the availability.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The hotel has a grand old external appearance however that is where it changes. The hotel is in the prefect location on the River Ness. Inside the hotel it is a bit of a Rabbit Warren with many steps, twists and turns and fire doors to navigate to get to rooms. We stayed for two nights. We dined in on the first night, it was one of the worst meals I have had, lacked flavour and poorly presented. Waiting staff were pleasant enough.
During dinner went to the bar to get a drink and had to wait in a long queue as only one staff member on duty to serve not only the lounge but the bar.
The room was adequate but a bit dingy with a view over adjoin buildings and backyards. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Br S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and feedback. We are very sorry you had a disappointing stay. We do hope you were able to speak to one of our Duty Managers att he time. Your comments regarding your evening meal will be investigated with our Kitchen Team and certainly food lacking flavour and poorly presented should not be happening in our Hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing throughout the Hotel with works starting during October. We are very sorry to disappoint and do hope that you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

First impressions last and will ensure that we will not return to this hotel.

At reception I was greeted by a very pleasant young man and a woman who can only be described in Scottish parlance as a "nippy sweety" she has a rather unfortunate manner and reception is certainly not where she should be. This was not my only encounter with this woman during my stay but I will expand on that later on in the review.

Our room was small and the bathroom even smaller, it only had a shower, which had no hot water and very noisy plumbing.

On returning to the hotel after our appointment I ventured to reception to pick up my key only to be harried by the woman at reception who demanded that I come to where she was standing, she assumed I was one of the many from the bus tour that had just been dropped off.

We had booked dinner in the restaurant and that was an experience, we were shown to our table by a lovely girl ,called Paulina, who gave us menus and took a drink order.

It was like sitting in a school cafeteria as the bus tour clients were in, the noise as incredible and it was difficult to have a conversation over the noise. Service was efficient and attentive , the food was average.

After dinner we went through to the bar to have a nightcap. The bar is a bit soulless and wasn't busy at all. Around 10.30 two people came into the bar and asked for a drink only to be told by the person behind that bar that it was closed.

I asked the woman at reception what time the bar closed , she said 11.00pm when I said that the bar person said it was closed , she changed her mind and said that the bar person would know more that her.

And so to sleep or rather not... the people in the room next to us must have entertained the whole of Inverness with the sound from their tv it was that loud! thankfully after midnight they eventually turned the noise down.

Throughout the night we were awakened by the noise from the hotel plumbing and to top it all off the bus tourers left at the crack of dawn , doors banging and cases being dragged along corridors.

This hotel is billed as 4 star not sure how they come to that conclusion , it is in need of a refurb, some customer service training and a menu that isn't stuck in the 1970's.

The positives are central location and some of their young staff are attentive ,pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your feedback. After reading your comments, we do hope you manage to speak to the Duty Manager at the time and under no circumstances should any of our team be 'nippy' towards our Guests. We have started an investigation into your comments. We can only apologise for such a disappointing stay. On a separate note we are currently undergoing refurbishment and main work will start beginning of October. It was pleasing to hear some of our younger members of the team were attentive and efficient.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

While the hotel was directly on the River Ness and within walking distance of nearly everything, the hotel itself lacked appeal. Our room had three heaters in it which didn't work, floors were anything but level, no phone connection to the desk, no paper/pen/city guide, no tissue. Beds and pillows were okay. A better choice would be to stay in the hotel next door or across the river.

Restaurants in the immediate are were very good. We walked to the incredible indoor and outdoor sports complexes along the river. Inverness is a very delightful walkable city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are truly very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Columba Hotel. We only wish we were able to speak to you at the time in order to remedy some of your disappointment. We have checked with our Maintenance Manager as he does preventive maintenance in the bedrooms and confirms that all heaters in the rooms work so we are unsure why your heaters were not working during your stay? If we had know at the time then we could have looked at them and sorted it immediately. As we have new owners we are currently in the process of replacing all paper/pens in the rooms. There should have been a welcome letter and city information pack accessible in your room.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 36 in Inverness
648 reviews
0.4 km away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
796 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#30 of 36 in Inverness
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $79 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness By Compass Hospitality Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing