We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of road noise at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Columba Hotel, and will give this hotel a 2.6 hinge rating (scale of 1-5). We are in room 308 on the third floor of this > 200-year-old hotel. No AC and the windows open out to the front so road noise became an issue at night, especially when the street sweeper came a cleaning at 4 AM. The room is dated but maintained in a simpler format with amenities and fixtures, then what we have seen at on previous nights. This must have been one grand hotel a couple of centuries ago as the creaky floor grand staircase taking us up to the third floor (yes there is one small elevator).
The river Ness is right outside the front door and the town was very interesting to walk around. Dinner tonight was in the hotel and very good (one of the reasons Tom could up the hinge rating a little).

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we do listen to all our Guests. We apologise for the lack of air conditioning in your room. We do provide fans for those guests who are hot in their rooms to prevent opening the windows. The Hotel is embarking on a refurbishment throughout the Hotel which include interiors in the bedrooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal. Disappointed to hear that you found 308 noisy with street noise as normally this side of the Hotel is quiet.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

I have just read some of the recent reviews here and found my experience a little different. We enjoyed the room, a character hotel built some time ago and I'm sure has some heritage restrictions.
We ate at the bar and although not quite Rocpool a few doors away was what I expected. The rooms can be noisy with what i suspect is a pump for water when taps are turned on. The location is excellent, within easy walk of all Inverness has to offer. We'd stay there again, it is not all brand new but it has a certain charm from a bygone era.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience. We are currently investing into the property and the Hotel will be upgraded throughout.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Prime location is a great advantage particularly as many of the day tours depart from right in front of the hotel. Friendly staff at the reception, restaurant and the bar ensured that if we come back we will definitely prefer this property. Very nice breakfast spread was offered. One drawback was that there was no view of the River Ness from the room. Also, there were some stairs in the corridors which inconvenienced us badly as we had to haul our luggage across them while checking in and checking out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the River Ness. If you are lucky you may get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hazraavijit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you found our team friendly and you enjoyed our location. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a river ness view however I am sure if our Reception team were aware they would have looked to see if we had any available front facing rooms. We are apologise about the luggage difficulties. Next time you stay please do take up the offer of luggage assistance as we can transport your luggage to and from your room.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel is nice locations. Great view of the castle and not to far from the shops, but that's it. Was hoping for a great view of the river, but nope. Room was okay. My sister and my room was separated way always from my mom and aunt's room. Breakfast was okay. Nothing too special.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. If you had booked a front facing room then this would have been allocated. We would need to investigate your comments if you had booked a front facing room or a standard. If you requested your rooms to be together then we are sorry that our team failed to honour this. We will look into it to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you were able to bring this to our Duty Managers attention at the time as they could have tried to change your rooms if we had the availability.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The hotel has a grand old external appearance however that is where it changes. The hotel is in the prefect location on the River Ness. Inside the hotel it is a bit of a Rabbit Warren with many steps, twists and turns and fire doors to navigate to get to rooms. We stayed for two nights. We dined in on the first night, it was one of the worst meals I have had, lacked flavour and poorly presented. Waiting staff were pleasant enough.
During dinner went to the bar to get a drink and had to wait in a long queue as only one staff member on duty to serve not only the lounge but the bar.
The room was adequate but a bit dingy with a view over adjoin buildings and backyards. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Br S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and feedback. We are very sorry you had a disappointing stay. We do hope you were able to speak to one of our Duty Managers att he time. Your comments regarding your evening meal will be investigated with our Kitchen Team and certainly food lacking flavour and poorly presented should not be happening in our Hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing throughout the Hotel with works starting during October. We are very sorry to disappoint and do hope that you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 36 in Inverness
648 reviews
0.4 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 36 in Inverness
1,331 reviews
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#30 of 36 in Inverness
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $79 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Columba Hotel, Inverness UK. Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is a 4-star hotel built in 1881. The hotel boasts a perfect position in the very heart of Inverness, yet located in a peaceful area offering marvelous views of Inverness Castle and the River Ness. There are 82 en suite bedrooms including a deluxe suite, many with river and castle views, restaurant and bar. The decor of Columba Hotel combines contemporary style and amenities with traditional comfort each room features excellent facilities as well as free high-speed wireless is available throughout the building. During the winter, the trees lining along Ness Walk are beautifully decked with fairy lights. The city has a host of historic buildings, notably in the Old Town, as well as fascinating shops from the Victorian Market to the new award-winning Eastgate centre which is a just a short walk away. You can also take a stroll to Inverness Castle or St Andrew's Cathedral, set alongside the River Ness, one of Britain's most beautiful riverside settings. There is a circular walk from the castle along the river and through the Ness Islands and you can watch anglers trying to catch Atlantic salmon - or try it yourself with a daily ticket. There are forest walks and views of the Moray Firth from Craig Phadrig, the hill that towers over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness By Compass Hospitality Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing