We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
US$331
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$333
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$129
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Parkhill Guest House(Inverness)(Great Value!)
    US$103
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    US$86
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    US$87
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (1,417)
    Filter reviews
    1,417 results
    Traveller rating
    232
    454
    367
    206
    158
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    232
    454
    367
    206
    158
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe rivermcnabs barinverness castleexecutive roomitison voucherroll top bathbuffet breakfasta river view roomeden court theatrecity centreshort breaklovely roompubshighlands
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 1,417 reviews
    Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

    We were checked in on July 8 around 3:45 by George, who went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. The room was excellent and we received an unexpected upgrade to the Ness Suite for our 10 year anniversary.
    This hotel was built in 1881, and retains much of its historical charm while still having been updated. Sometimes the floors creek, as do the floors in any 100+ year old building. The room has 15 foot ceilings with original crown molding while the bathroom is quite modern and obviously renovated. If you don't like that, you can book any number of cookie cutter 4 and 5 star hotels down the road that look like every other hotel. The views of the river were amazing and we had no complaints. I would stay here again anytime.
    It's worth noting that one of the more impressive features of this hotel was George, who checked us in. He even let us see our room before booking. While in the lobby, I witnessed him helping two customers who spoke very little English. He helped them book their next accommodations in another city, checked them in for their airline flight, and printed their boarding passes. I'm not sure what they would have done had he not helped them. I stay in a lot of hotels all over the world, and you don't get service like that very often.

    Stayed: July 2018
    Thank DanCAK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

    Thank you for your recent feedback. I am delighted that we were able to upgrade you to the Suite. It is a beautiful room with the most amazing views. I have passed your comments to George who was absolutely delighted he had made an impression on you.

    We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 July 2018

    The room was perfectly suited to our needs, the hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel is situated within very easy walking distance of town center....breakfast wasn't bad either! Car parking is not available at the hotel but there is a car park just around the corner which costs £4.50 for 24hrs, then the hotel refunded us the costs with a voucher to use in the bar. Fabulous.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view.
    • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank debleo2002
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our team friendly and efficient. Wishing you a lovely summer.
    Kind regards
    Columba Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

    The room was very warm which is understandable in the weather but a fan should have been provided and curtain left closed, the room has been refurbished but clearly on the cheap, with cheap beds, carpets and most of all the shower which pulses on/off every few seconds, all of this you could put up with if the service was good. It’s not, the Staff seem, harassed and untrained and Management have ridiculous rules about leaving small cases in reception at breakfast time. Which is a significant distance from the restaurant and well out of sight. I’ve got to say enforcing rules is the only thing they do with enthusiasm. As for Management when you converse it’s obvious why the staff are so unmotivated. This hotel ranks really poorly in Inverness for a reason stay away!! Last time I don’t check where my admin has booked me in. I don’t review very often but thought this one was worth a warning to people.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    1  Thank Rohcid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

    Dear Guest, thank you for your review following your stay. We apologise for such a disappointing stay and are truly very sorry that you left dissatisfied with our product and services provided. We will contact you directly.
    Kind regards
    Columba Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

    We stayed in Columba Hotel while we were doing our Scotland tour. First night of our tour has started great. The city is amazing. Full of vibe, party, pub and great people. The hotel located next to the rived just 2 minutes walk from the city central. No need better location. The staff is friendly too. We woke up bit late and we still got some breakfast thanks to that two lovely ladies. Those two ladies just reflect the the whole Scotish mentality. Thank you so much. You made our tour even better.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    Thank SumiFtc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

    Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the team were able to provide you with breakfast.
    Kind regards
    Columba Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 June 2018

    Recently stayed in this hotel , very disappointed. Mattresses very old and emitted a foul odor.. Hotel gave our room key another guest, serious lack of security. Wonky plumbing and noisy from street activities. Front desk did not honor our request for wake up call and claim they ran out of hairdryers.

    Hotel run by young adults.

    Room Tip: Avoid room 125
    Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    1  Thank pat c
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

    Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We apologise for such a disappointing stay. We can only apologise for the lack of attention regarding security and be rest assured we will speak to our Reception Team about this. Our mattresses are new so are unsure as to why you found the one in your room old. Your comments will be discussed with our team. We do hope you were able to speak to one of our Managers at the time.
    Kind regards
    Columba Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews