We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
244
470
370
208
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
470
370
208
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river mcnabs bar inverness castle executive room itison voucher roll top bath a river view room buffet breakfast eden court theatre city centre short break lovely room highlands
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

My husband had booked this hotel as a birthday treat for me and to be honest, we would have rather stayed at home.

The room was a standard double, which don't be fooled, it in no way looked like the image they have on their website. The room was small and stuffy. The windows didn't open properly, the bathroom window didn't open at all which would explain the mould!

The fan provided only circulated hot/stuffy air around the room.
There were cobwebs on the windowsils and the view was looking into some one's window in a block of flats.

We paid £110 which included breakfast. The breakfast was ok however if we had paid an extra £20 we could have stayed at the Kingsmill hotel which is much nicer in all aspects!

I would rate this a 3 star hotel at most.
All in all, we were very dissapointed and avoided going back to the hotel after dinner.

The reception area and bar looked nice enough but the rooms were terrible. Value for money is terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 316 - get a river view or you'll stare into flats
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JocelynHavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. i am sorry to hear you had a disappointed stay. All our rooms vary in style, size and views. A standard double as advertised is only one of the many standard doubles the Hotel offers. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms and hope that you may allow us the opportunity at a future date to show these off. The windows are very old and are of timber nature. Due to the height of the building we are governed by Health & Safety as to how high a guest is allowed to open the windows and i am sorry that this was not enough for you. Unfortunately fans do only circulate existing air that is in the room and therefore may not help if the room is as you state "stuffy".

It is only through feedback that we are able to improve our guest experience and i am grateful that you took the time to review our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I literally have the oldest phone in the world, in my hotel room.
Not sure the description of the place was that accurate either.....

“As one of the best 4-star hotel in Inverness, the Columba Hotel combines a variety of lovely rooms with a terrific restaurant and bar in a beautifully traditional setting. With natural and historical highlights in every direction”

Nice! Lies lies lies, oh and damn lies!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that t=you describe the phone as the "oldest phone in the world". We are in the process of upgrading our telephones and I am sorry that this appears to have marred your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is located in a very good location. River side. Our room had a nice view. Unfortunately, we thought it was a bit old, manly the bathroom .. We also had some unpleasant moments with the restaurant hotel, related to an offer with the world cup. Terrible restaurant with terrible staff.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank EvaB1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was marred by the World Cup Offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We were checked in on July 8 around 3:45 by George, who went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. The room was excellent and we received an unexpected upgrade to the Ness Suite for our 10 year anniversary.
This hotel was built in 1881, and retains much of its historical charm while still having been updated. Sometimes the floors creek, as do the floors in any 100+ year old building. The room has 15 foot ceilings with original crown molding while the bathroom is quite modern and obviously renovated. If you don't like that, you can book any number of cookie cutter 4 and 5 star hotels down the road that look like every other hotel. The views of the river were amazing and we had no complaints. I would stay here again anytime.
It's worth noting that one of the more impressive features of this hotel was George, who checked us in. He even let us see our room before booking. While in the lobby, I witnessed him helping two customers who spoke very little English. He helped them book their next accommodations in another city, checked them in for their airline flight, and printed their boarding passes. I'm not sure what they would have done had he not helped them. I stay in a lot of hotels all over the world, and you don't get service like that very often.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank DanCAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am delighted that we were able to upgrade you to the Suite. It is a beautiful room with the most amazing views. I have passed your comments to George who was absolutely delighted he had made an impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

The room was perfectly suited to our needs, the hotel staff were friendly and efficient and the hotel is situated within very easy walking distance of town center....breakfast wasn't bad either! Car parking is not available at the hotel but there is a car park just around the corner which costs £4.50 for 24hrs, then the hotel refunded us the costs with a voucher to use in the bar. Fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debleo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm563, General Manager at Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our team friendly and efficient. Wishing you a lovely summer.
Kind regards
Columba Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews