We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and service”
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 266 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a group of four in August 2020. The staff were very friendly. We loved the huge teddy bears they used to social distance the space between tables. The food was really good. For starters, we had the crab salad, sea trout ceviche and fried stuffed courgette flowers which were all very tasty. I had Linguine with prawns and scallops which was excellent. My husband had halibut with clams which he enjoyed. Another friend had lamb which she also enjoyed. They also had a good wine list. The cheese cake was very good. We had a lovely evening and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2020

We had the most enjoyable experience of 2020 here at Rocpool. The meal from starter to dessert was out of this world and the service by far is the best in Inverness.

My friend is gluten free and dairy free and they created a main course dish for her and presented her with gluten free bread with oil and balsamic without being asked. Attention to detail is fantastic and throughly made our get together the most memorable experience and is the highlight of 2020.

Thank you to all the staff front of house and kitchen. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank DJPLochness92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020

On the evening of Thursday the 10th of December, I visited your restaurant with my friend. We were both immediately impressed by the layout and protocol in line with current legislation. The waiting staff were very friendly and professional. The whole meal was superb. We both definitely be back soon.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank RobC1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020

Dining alone I was made very welcome and found that social distancing was put in place via a giant teddy bear on the adjacent table - designed to ensure no diners got too close to each other. Although Covid restrictions were in place with hand sanitizers and mask rules - touches of humour like this along with very friendly staff, ensured that the place was buzzing with happy diners.

I don't like tomatoes or peppers so my langoustine starter was adapted to avoid these ingredients. They came unshelled on a very good savoury rice topped with feta and garlic which was inventive and gorgeous. My main was the battered local fish which was beautifully cooked - on a bed of tartare and peas with crispy potato squares.

I did not have wine - preferring to try an artisan gin and a malt whisky.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We visited for an anniversary meal, and had the monkfish and sole, with chocolate mousse cake and creme brule to follow. We love seafood, and the mains didn't disappoint. The deserts were excellent too. We liked the little touch of the teddy bears on the occupied seats and the service was great. While expensive, the quality of the service and food matches it.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnowportsJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Dochgarroch, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.