We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$240
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Alexandra Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clan Macduff Hotel(Fort William)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
195
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscot and heatherben nevis innperfect locationwest highland waytwin roomself catering cottagecomfortable accommodationsclimbing benperfect hoststhree nightshomemade biscuitshot bathfluffy towelsthe main housequiet areathought of everythingbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Stayed for three nights at the start of September 2015 (father and son trip). Thought long and hard about staying in the bunk house but decided against it as I wasn't sure my 14-year old son would embrace the experience as much as I would. Therefore elected to stay in the B&B.

Received a warm welcome from Scott & Heather. The twin room was spacious with excellent views to the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was great and Scott & Heather couldn't do enough for us, giving plenty of advice about what to do & see while we were in the vicinity. The location is right at the start of the Mountain Path for Ben Nevis and is next door to the Ben Nevis Inn. Excellent stay, excellent hosts - thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Midlands-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

My wife, another couple, and myself stayed at this guest house/hostel for three nights upon completion of the West Highland Way. After the broad range of accommodations we saw on the Way this was an oasis. The proprietor was kind and engaging but not too nosy or clingy, the rooms were clean, well prepared, equipped with a kitchen, toilet, and shower in addition to a sleeping room. We had stayed in tiny cabins, larger bunk rooms, private rooms, and family rooms. This was a family lodging, equipped for 5 people, with full kitchen including fridge, stove, oven, and dining table and chairs. The bed room had one bunk bed, one single, and one double bed, all adequately comfortable, and steps above other accommodations. The guest house is about 50 yards from the Ben Nevis Inn, which was a delightful treat. Also the location of the start of the Mountain Path up Ben Nevis. It was very nice to summit the mountain and have both a great pub and our lodging withing close distance of the trail. The house itself appears to be an ancient stone farmhouse with a significant amount of very tasteful remodeling. It soars to be an active sheep farm as well, or nestled between fields used for such purpose. This was delightful for us, but it was not obtrusive or even prominent. Just one more quaint and subtle characteristic of this losing. One downside to this guest house is proximity to Fort William. It's about 1.5 miles or so from town, which can easily be arranged by taxi for about £7 or walked in about 20-30 minutes. Taxi services are just a call away in Fort William, so no problem there really. There are other accommodations in town, but if it's wilderness that is desired and not town, this is a great spot. For us, the quiet isolation of a rural farmhouse was a welcome home for the few days we stayed, and we couldn't really have asked for more. Thanks, Dominic, for a great spot!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Scot and Heathers place. They are old veterans in running B&Bs and have a lifetime of experience. Nonetheless, you really feel home in this beautiful place. I do hope many future travellers can enjoy their hospitality and the wunderful sense of humor of Scot. May this also be a way of saying thank you so much!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We stayed at the B&B for two nights, although we ended up arriving at the neighbors place due to a navigation error. Our host to be Scott was happy to help over the phone, giving us detailed directions on the phone to carry on further down the road. Once we had arrived through the door he welcomed us with smile and a great sense of humor. Leading on to a short tour of facilities and the our room.

The room was immaculate yet very homely. Every little detail in the room was thoughtfully picked out, from organic Scottish hand-wash to biscuits and a lovely selection of teas.

The breakfast was a fantastic selection home grown Scottish products such as fresh smoked salmon, Scottish made sausages and locally made fruit bread.

Our host gave us a fond farewell wishing us luck as we set off and ascended up to the summit of Ben Nevis, as the B&B is located directly at the foot of the mountain.

Both nights our host recommended we book ourselves in at the local restaurant next door (The Ben Nevis Inn). A great selection of delicious Scottish dishes that satisfied our hunger after a long day.

At the end of our stay it was sad to leave as our hosts were so welcoming making us feel like family.

Thank you again to Scott, Heather and Son.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward-J-W-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I spent one night in my recent trip to Scotland in this amazing B&B. It is in the same building than the hostel, but separated. The room was not big, it was huge, as well as the bathroom, with and exquisite decoration. It is very confortable, and an excellent place to stay. Even though it is not easy to find the location the indications given on their web page are really helpful (in fact we found it with no problem).
But the best of the B&B is the housekeeper, whose name i cannot remember. He is a smart man, with a great sense of humor, and always willing to help. If you need somewhere to sleep in Fort William, do not hesistate, it is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IsidroSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews