We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“NOT worth the price” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very disappointed in this hotel, not worth half the price. The pictures on website were definitely not of our room as it was in desperate need of a revamp. Hotel is very tired and in need of TLC. Gave hotel opportunity to contact re our comments on first morning of 2 night stay and didn't hear a peep. On a + the breakfast was very nice...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trace906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    196
    145
    87
    79
See reviews for
84
235
58
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here on business and wish I hadn't bothered. The room was pokey and although it had some ferrerro rocher on the pillow, a bit of decoration and refurbishment would have been better! Don't even bother to eat here. I had an inlflated priced sandwich at lunchtime £4.95 for two slices of bread, meagre filling and scrap of salad with a few crisps on the side. I reckon it was made by the receptionist,come barman, come porter, as he appeared to be the only person there!

I wish I hadn't bothered with dinner. I was the only person in the dining room, so opted for the bar and was the only person there too! £14.95 for some 'haddock gratin' and that was after the receptionist come waitress come barperson told me everything they did not have available on the menu that was meagre to start with. There may have been a tiny piece of haddock (she said it was the last fish left) at the bottom of the gratin dish with some really stodgy mustard cheese sauce on the top and a warm bread roll (?) no butter on the side. There was also a small dish of veg provided but the £3 plate of fish and chips I had in the railway station buffet the next day was bigger and better! The piece de resistance was the satisfaction survey I was asked to complete and did honestly! I have to say Breakfast was better the next morning.

I had planned to use this hotel for a work conference I am organising, but not now! I asked for a meeting room/catering quote and it is yet to arrive, needless to say another Perth hotel has got the business. It is such a shame I regularly visit Perth and this hotel location would be ideal, but it needs a big shake up. It 'could' be so good.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Searched for a smoking hotel and found that the station hotel was on a website that had smoking rooms. Phoned to make a booking and asked for a smoking room.... Informed that this was not a problem and o booked a room. On arrival found hotel to be very shoddy. Carpets worn dull and flacking paint etc. Got key and went to room to find a huge no smoking sign on door. Back to reception to complain to be informed whole hotel no smoking. Asked to see a manager ... Non available till morning. Very disappointed!!! An old outdated hotel, poor decor, worn carpets, plastic cups in room, no managers, no smoking rooms, no porters..... How can this hotel warrent a 4 stars.... Lucky even to have 2 stars in my opinion. Don't be fooled by their website it's not as depicted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A bargain picked up on Booking.com! This Victorian Hotel has refurbished many rooms and we took advantage of a great deal of superior room with breakfast. Two couples in excellent accommodation plus breakfast of a good standard, made to order, makes for a great weekend. Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, directing us to free overnight parking behind the hotel. The weather was kind to us but even if it had been poor, there's a lot to see around the city of Perth. I would return to this hotel if visiting Perth again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have loads of space and the turret rooms have a bright position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeman, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

After reading the reviews I was slightly worried about staying here but there was no need. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

On arrival I asked if there was any chance of the 'suprise upgrade offer' which I had seen on the website and with a click of a button we went from a small double to an executive room at no extra cost. The room and bathroom were large. The bathroom could do with updating which I later learnt all the bathrooms on the hotel are being updated anyway. There was bits of dust in some places and the bath looked like it had sand in the bottom of it. However, I was more than happy when I noticed the chocolates on the pillow and the bottles of water - a very nice touch that not many hotels do.

The breakfast the next morning was delicious. We had the full cooked breakfast and I don't understand some of the earlier reviews that said they went away hungry from it because we were so full it kept us going until dinner in the evening!! And besides that it says if you want more you just need to ask!

The only issue we had was that the shower would not heat up. We let the staff know and it was fixed later that day so I was more than happy with the service.

Overall - yes the hotel could do with being updated with a lick of paint and a new carpet but we enjoyed it's laid back atmosphere and lovely staff!

Room Tip: Book online through the hotels own website and request the surprise upgrade offer on arrival - if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetzDavod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.7 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.4 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.2 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price range (per night): $70 - $505
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Budget Places so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing