We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Hotel is in an excellent location, directly across from the station and a 10 minute walk from the notable areas in Perth centre. Stayed one night, the rooms could do with a little bit of an upgrade, but are otherwise very clean and cozy. Breakfast was only £5 and was great value with excellent food. The garden is a great place to relax with a drink in warmer weather and the bar menu is really very good too! Only criticism would be the ability to get a drink from the bar, on the Sunday before we left i had been standing waiting for 15 minutes to be served, no staff in sight aside from the reception. However this is only a small hiccup in an otherwise perfect stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenny16232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Staff are very friendly, the location is good in terms of finding the hotel but it is beside the train station, as the name suggests and the night I stayed someone decided to see how how high the revs on their motorbike would reach and how often. A one off? Good food, comfortable and clean but could do with a spruce up. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We broke a long journey in Perth while travelling back from the Outer Hebrides. The room was comfortable and clean but could do with redecorating. The evening meal and breakfast were both outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Station Hotel is an old Victrorian Railway Hotel and must have been grand in its day and you can still see what it used to be but its tired now. The Hotel is still okay for a cheap break as I found the rooms warm and comfy with a decent bed, the whole hotel was spotless and Breakfast (I had the cooked) was okay however the continental looked very good with plenty of choice. The staff were very pleasant and offered sort any issues or problems if required( we had none ) all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Have a nice time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank youngranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We checked in yesterday and the receptionist was friendly and smiling , the way you should be greeted anywhere in our opinion .We were given the breakfast voucher as it was included in our booking and she also gave us a 20% off voucher for the restaurant which made us eat there , after all we all like a discount .The room was on the 1st floor and easy to find .The room was big enough ( how big a room do some people need !!! ) .It was clean with fresh towels and a nice chocolate on each towel which is a nice touch .You also have a kettle , tea / coffee , milk and cookies along with a TV , radio , ironing board and iron , what more do you really need . I would agree that the hotel is tired but you must remember that to refurbish a hotel of this size would be £100000 plus easy and remember what the nightly rate rate ,,value for money . I would have loved to be around some 80 to 100 years ago when it was at it's peak WoW .

The restaurant was being run by a young woman and a young man . The woman took our drinks order and main course and the drinks were served straight away and the mains ( Lamb shank and Sirlion steak ) were served in a decent time .The Lamb dish was served nice a hot but the steak was cooked as I had asked but the chips were just warm , I don't complain anywhere so I just dunked my chips into my peppercorn sauce .This put a bit of a dampener on the meal .When we had finished our main course the young woman was on a break or working elsewhere and it took the young man over 40 minutes to take our plates away ( there was about 10 people seated in the whole restaurant , we then ordered desert which was delicious and thankfully served by the young woman .My service score would have been a 5 as the receptionist was great but due to the poor service received by the male waiter I decided on a 3 .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mm3pts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
0.7 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,149 reviews
0.4 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Queens Hotel
3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $71 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing