We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, awesome brekkie”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Bed and brekkie was the perfect description for my short stay, arriving in time for bed and leaving straight after brekkie.

The hotel is perfectly placed in the Centre of lovely Perth. The single room I had was tiny, but quiet and comfortable.

Then there's the all -important brekkie. I wasn't sure what to expect given the price I was paying, but I needn't have worried. A super tasty Scottish spread to send me off into the October gale.

Super value, central, quiet and with a very good brekkie. I'll be back (but not in a Terminator way).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tim_J_Popplewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for spending a few minutes to review your recent stay. I am pleased you found the bed and brekkie to be perfect - that is great news. The hotel is indeed ideally placed for all the attractions in Perth. I am glad you will be back to sample our super tasty breakfasts in the future. If you book direct with the hotel in the future you will get the best rate available too.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've used the Salutation twice, out of three business trips to Perth.
It's a querky place. Not modern by any stretch of the imagination but the rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is good.
Booking up again for next month

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for sending in a few words about your recent stay in which I am pleased you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the staff and breakfast good. I am pleased you will be booking back for next month. If you book direct with the hotel or on the hotel website you will see a list of all the best deals and prices we have to offer.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This is the type of hotel that I like - well-run and traditional. It has a good location in central Perth, close to the main shopping area and with a good choice of restaurants nearby. I arrived by train and walked to the hotel in about ten minutes.

The layout is quirky, with twisting corridors and unexpected little staircases as you move between buildings. I had a great room overlooking South Street - a decent size, comfortable bed, plenty of storage space. A big attraction is the dining hall where breakfast is served - a huge double height room on the first floor. Good cooked breakfast available and an extensive cold buffet.

My only criticism is the luggage storage system - I won't describe it here, but I thought it was lacking in security.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views on the hotel. I am pleased that you found the hotel well run and in an ideal location. I am also pleased you liked your bedroom and the quirkiness of the layout - all adds to the character. The dining room is amazing with its classic windows and ceilings. I am pleased you liked the cooked breakfast, a great way to start the day.
Once again many thanks and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We have just experienced the Sally hotel Sunday night saver. What a bargain ! two of us enjoyed dinner followed by a sumptuous brekkie all for the miserly sum of £75.00.The fare was excellent and well presented combined with friendly staff, the bar is cosy and well stocked.
Overall a satisfactory experience which we hope to repeat soon.
I should add the fact this hotel has a very interesting history.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bowtowtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to send in a review about your recent stay. I am pleased you found the hotel to be good value and that you enjoyed the dinner and brekkie. I am glad you found the hotel staff friendly too. The hotel does indeed have an interesting history over the last 320 years, I am sure if the walls could talk a fantastic film could be made.
Hope to see you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Salutation Hotel in Perth in October, 2017 for one night. Was travelling solo and stayed in the twin bed room.

HOTEL

The hotel itself is absolutely lovely - it has a certain style about it. It has a comfy lobby, beautiful bar and dining room with huge windows and a lovely street view.

ROOM

The room and bathroom are very basic as you would expect for a 3 star hotel. Suite has everything you might need and is very clean. I was happy with a big flat screen TV too.

STAFF

All staff is lovely and polite. I would like to especially praise the receptionist Laima - she sorted 2 requests I had quickly and with a smile.

FOOD

I had breakfast at the hotel and it was great. A big selection of fried breakfast items as well as pastries, porridge and fruits. Coffee, tea and various juices also available. Would recommend.

LOCATION

Very central. Everything you might need is walking distance from the hotel.

PLEASE NOTE

Wifi connection in the room costs £5 per 24hours. There is wifi available at common areas free of charge.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ivona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to jot down a few lines about your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay. We do try our best. We hope you will return soon and remember if you book direct with the hotel by phone or on our website there is no charge for the WiFi.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
977 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.6 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
662 reviews
0.7 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
708 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing