We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit still as good”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We love this hotel with its tartan carpets and squeaky floors. If its a wee taste of Scotland go for the Royal George. We would recommend you ask for a river view room. Just stayed the one night as we were on a small tour. We had the largest full breakfast ever and it was delicious as well.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

I'm away from home 2 to 3 nights a week so I've got to know a lot of hotels and B&Bs in Scotland. A lot of 'traditional' Scottish hotels I've stayed in have been awful - tartan carpets, cracked bathroom suites, sagging beds and dusty window ledges - more like institutions than hotels.
But the Royal George isn't one of these. The room I stayed in had all the mod cons - powerful shower, marble tiled bathroom, flatscreen TV etc - but it also had charm and character.
The dining room which overlooks the garden and river is elegant and individual.
The staff were all warm and welcoming without being over familiar or intrusive.
It's a hotel that feels very much part of the local community - you can imagine bumping into a wedding guest or a family celebrating a Ruby Wedding anniversary as much as you might a tourist or a businessperson.
I really enjoyed my stay and will return next time I'm in Perth.
Finally, I accidentally lost my phone in the hotel and the staff not only went to a lot of trouble to find it but also posted it to me free of charge.
The Royal George is a county town hotel which manages to combine 21st century facilities and standards with old fashioned charm and hospitality. It's a hotel with great manners!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

SO disappointed . On arrival we went to book a table for the restaraunt and was told no tables were available even at 6.30pm. On a a telephone call prior to bookingI was told all ok on arrival we can book into the restaurant. The room I was booked into had a variety of pigeons outside and so I was unable to open the window and it was warm that day. There was a wedding party and birthday party that day so appreciate that the hotel was busy but why were not told to book the restaurant anyway? No apology was given at any stage by the gent at the desk. I cancelled our return journey back from holiday stop over.

Room Tip: Front or side room. We were at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stayed here for a weekend for a wedding - seemed a popular spot for wedding parties as there were guests from at least one other wedding staying too. Good atmosphere and a place full of the kind of character that must get tourists in the mood for a trip north to the Highlands/Deeside. Staff were very helpful. Room was comfortable with an excellent shower and a reasonable view of the Tay. Perhaps its greatest attribute though is the unmissable breakfast - what a feed!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ingolfsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed here over night bm,had a fab night's sleep bed was really comfortable breakfast was amazing..the view from our room looked on to the river yay was lovely..plenty to to and lots of shops and restaurants surrounding this hotel...would defo stay here again...staff were very pleasant and helpful..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mags74wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,129 reviews
0.8 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
247 reviews
0.9 km away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
978 reviews
5.0 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
966 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $113 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing