We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
The Old Mill Inn(Pitlochry)
US$143
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benvrackie(Pitlochry)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveller rating
818
80
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
80
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roombalcony roomsmall hotelpre dinner drinksfirst classbreakfast and dinnervenisonlovely hotelno lifttop floorfour posterold housecomfortable loungesuperb foodthree course mealreturn visithigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 916 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2015

A repeat visit, our third this year, and it just gets better. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. Food is first class with a wide choice for all meals. Convenient for the town itself, a few minutes walk unfortunately downhill and of course uphill on you way back. Are considering another visit to tie in with a show at the the Pilochry Festival Theatre for which the hotel provides transport there and back. We have no reservations in recommending a stay here.





  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank j_dowie910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hi Mr Dowie. Nice to hear from you on tripadvisor and thanks very much for the kind review and recommendation. We look forward to a possible fourth visit this year! Thanks again, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We received excellent service from everyone. The room was lovely, with fantastic views over beautiful countryside. The hotel is conveniently located for the town, but has a very quiet location. The food is outstanding, and the menu changes daily. If you are visiting the Pitlochry theatre, the hotel lays on free transport to and from the theatre.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank the_fenbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hello the_fenbys. Thanks for a nice review. You've picked up on a few of the things that make us a little different within Pitlochry, particularly the 2 rosette dinner menu that not only changes every day, but always has a choice of four starters, four mains and four puddings. Our chefs work hard on menu diversity and we like to think it really adds to the overall Knockendarroch experience....... sales pitch over, thanks again for the review, kind regards, Struan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This was the first time we had visited this hotel. It was to celebrate my husband's 70 birthday.
What a fantastic hotel. The superior room we were given was super with wonderful views and the binoculars left in the room were a nice touch. dinner in the evening was excellent with wonderful flavours and presentation for all courses. Breakfast was slo excellent and it was so nice to get it served instead of self service! The service was excellent the staff were fantastic. The lounge was most comfortable too. The owners were most friendly and helpful. It was obvious speaking to them how much they cared for the hotel. This small hotel is a "must visit" if you wish comfort , excellent food and great service David and Edna

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edna165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Hi David and Edna. It was nice meeting you the other week and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Great to hear you liked the full table service at breakfast - it's something we have worked hard on to get right. Thanks for a great review and maybe we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Knockendarroch Hotel and we would certainly recommend it.
We stayed in a superior (room 10) on the top floor which had a balcony which was lovely to sit out in and enjoy the fantastic views. (binoculars supplied)
The fine dining meals were superb and no corners were cut with regards to quality including the localy produced venison,ice cream Heather honey,jams only to mention a few.
Staff were very attentive and pleasant - such lovely girls!
Looking forward to returning to this high quality hotel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Hi Sylvia K. Thanks for the great review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your return visit. Kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Our second stay at the Knockendarroch in 6 months and we can honestly say it just gets better and better. We loved our small but lovely tower bedroom with views over the town, glen and horizon. The rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed with really comfy beds and are spotlessly clean. The decor and ambiance have been very well thought out and effortlessly created and maintained. You always feel sympathetically, yet unobtrusively, cared for.
Louise and the staff remembered us from our last visit and really made us feel welcome with helpful suggestions and local knowledge. I just loved having a relaxing pre-dinner drink in the lounge, taking time to select from a really creative and quality menu. Over 3 nights we enjoyed delicious meals and lovely Scottish cuisine. The chef is really excellent and compares very favourably to any fine dine restaurants. I particularly enjoyed the Goats Cheese parcel, wonderfully cooked venison and the creative take on Lemon Meringue Pie (which was both elegant and very tasty). After a very hectic few weeks we were looking for 3 days of tranquility in lovely surroundings and some pampering. We certainly got that...not to mention the unexpected arrival of a Hollywood movie star... just goes to show Louise and Struan you, your staff and your lovely hotel are most definitely A-list. Thank you SO much, "we'll be back"!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank susiesplashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Hello susiesplashes. Twice in 6 months.... my kind of guests! Very pleased we lived up to your expectations second time around and that we were able to provide an A-lister to keep you entertained. See you next time and kind regards, Struan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews