We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
215
225
62
44
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
225
62
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own brewery lilac cottage pub food afternoon tea ben vrackie lots of character dining room log fire steak pie haggis following morning both nights warm welcome cooked breakfast ales braveheart brewed
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Went on a voucher so cant grumble about the price but it could be so much more than it is. If you are serving afternoon tea why one so basic. Had fish and chips in the bar and staff horrified to be asked to replace mushy peas with a little salad, totally thrown but eventually was achieved, got garnish as with the afternoon tea but you would have thought we were asking for the earth.
Breakfast was a disaster, obviously forgot our order but didnt have the grace to admit it though people came and went whilst we waited. When this fresh cooked breakfast came the egg was tepid and hard and the mushrooms which was the reason we had to wait apparently were swimming in grease, chefs revenge for out complaint at waiting maybe

Room Tip: Dont have room 10 as the bathroom door sticks and you could be in there till check out
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Feel I cant be too negative as we had a good deal with a very average afternoon tea thrown in, but I would have been pretty hacked off had we paid full whack. The building has lots of character from the outside and the kerb appeal is there unfortunately this changes once you step inside with very dated (1980's) decor and stale smell. Our room was supposed to be superior was very clean but really needed some attention, very old bathroom and dirty scuffed paintwork. On a plus side the large towels were soft,fluffy and had a nice smell and all the staff were very pleasnt. Breakfast was good quality produce but served in a diningroom that again desperately needed refurbed. Could be so good just needs some TLC

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Evelyn485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The decor in our room was quite dated and our cold tap didn't work properly, we reported it twice but nothing was done. The public rooms are also very tired looking, with the carpet in particular looking dreadfully worn out. Breakfast was O.K. but the evening meal we had in the bar was awful. My onion soup was short on onions but long on Bovril and the bread and butter pudding was indescribable, I ate the ice cream but left the pudding. Most of the staff were very pleasant and obliging but sadly we won't be staying here again. This could be an amazing hotel but badly needs refurbishment and a new chef.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We spent two nights here. We came to do the touristy things in the area and this was a fantastic base to do this. The hotel is clean and comfy. The bar was great with their own real ales from the microbrewery next door, and all the locals were friendly. The food in the bar was good as well. Overall couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Two4mud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Will stay again, lovely traditional and warm hotel and restaurant. Got a voucher for an overnight with afternoon tea. Have previously had dinner at the hotel before and knew the food was good.

Checked in to room 8, clean and spacious. The hotel is the oldest in the area and the decor may not be to some peoples tastes, however I found the whole hotel warm and inviting. All hotel areas are maintained and clean. Staff are great and can't do enough for you.

Locals and guests use the bar area and there is a great atmosphere. Afternoon tea was a good size (see picture). Afterwards we sat out in the beer garden at the front of the hotel and had some drinks, reasonably priced. Dinner was traditional and a good size, we sat in the main bar, the restaurant was closed that night. Had a few more drinks, the bar closes at 11, but we did have the option to sit in the lounge as we were overnight guests, but we decided not to.

Slept well, bed relatively comfortable, pillows a bit lumpy but still managed to sleep fine. All towels appeared new and there were more than enough. Breakfast was in the main restaurant, there was a continental buffet and option to order cooked breakfast.

I would advise to try the onsite brewed ale and the honey! Also Edradour distillery is close by and offer a great tour.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews