We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing terrible but not a lot of good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 16 June 2016

There was nothing terrible or bad enough in itself to complain about individually but there were a lot of small things that should have been done better. I don't have ridiculously high standards and almost always write positive reviews so will try and give a balanced view.

Good things first:
Reception and bar staff very nice and super helpful
Superior room was lovely
Bed and pillows were really comfy
Heater in room made temperature comfortable and easily controllable
Drinks prices were OK for a hotel
Leisure facilities were good
Pitlochry is a lovely location
Entertainment on 1 night (Scottish and country music not to my taste but most seemed to enjoy it)
Food served really quickly (this is in bad things too!)
Breakfast was good, decent choice of cereals and hot food
When I asked for dinner on 2nd night to be a bit hotter they obliged


Bad things
Food was served really quickly - must have been sitting out on plates, no gap at all between courses and on first night my food was luke warm (my husbands was fine)
The starter we chose (cheese and red onion tartlet) was not available so they brought a very different substitute jalapeño poppers (out of the freezer) - no option offered to pick something else
People were made to wait outside restaurant despite 10+ tables being free and set; they could have seated people and told them there would be a delay to taking orders or food arriving
Empty wine bottle and glasses from preordered welcome tray not cleared by cleaner nor was towels folded or shortbread on tea tray topped up
Water pressure in shower not great and temperature dropped every couple of minutes

We still enjoyed our time in Pitlochry and did not let all the minor issues spoil our break, we just wouldn't go back to this hotel. The hotel was full of people on bus tours and some seemed to be having a great time, other were less amused. Probably because we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and paid extra for upgraded room, if felt like a poorer hotel than expected for the price. If you get a great deal on b&b it might be worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Hi, I appreciate the positives and take on board the critique. I must say though that the way we run dinner is without question the best way. We have played around with a number of formulas and different ideas and managing numbers is the most effective way. Bringing in customers early, simply to sit, would confuse the team.
Apologies there were a couple of shortcomings but I am glad you were comfortable and you liked the service.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 259 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We recently stayed here while we were on a Shearings coach trip and I have ticked average but I would have said good but there is nothing between average and very good. The room was very comfortable with a table and 2 chairs to sit at in the window. But it was by the door from the lift and I never understand why people having spent all evening together then stand and chat, often quite loudly at late hours. Form what we saw and heard there had been staffing problems and new staff were being trained so breakfast the first morning was a bit disjointed. However after that they changed it too a buffet style which worked much better. There is a set menu with 3 choices for each course or you can pick off the al la carte menu with a discount. We did this one night for a change but all the food was well cooked and presented. We liked the fact you could collect your coffee afterwards and sit in the very comfortable lounge areas or outside as we did several evenings. There is a very nice indoor pool with other leisure facilities but we only used the pool a relaxing way to finish the day. This hotel is at the top of quite a steep hill and is either a long walk down or you need to be a mountain goat to take the short cut. So if you have difficulty walking this may not be the hotel for you although we did see some people getting taxis up and down from the hotel.. We enjoyed our stay here and as we were on holiday we took everything n our stride. Some areas of the hotel do need some attention but generally we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ardentspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there, och I have to say we are disappointed we couldn't squeeze that extra star from you but it is pleasing to read that all was well and you enjoyed your break.
Maybe next time !
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Found a great wee deal on the Hydro’s website and decided to book it for a last minute weekend in Pitlochry , we also upgraded to a Premier room as a treat. I only had time for a quick look at the hotel website but was hoping for a reasonably ok time when we got there. How wrong was I , the experience was far from ok … it was amazing. From the minute we arrived outside the beautiful old building until the minute we left I cannot fault the place. The staff , the facilities , the food , the building itself … every single thing was great. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The premier room ( room 210) was out of this world. It was a suite with its own living room , bathroom and four poster bed and on arrival there was a fruit basket , chocolate and water waiting in our room , which was a lovely wee touch. The living area was really comfy with a huge tv , couch and table in it and the bedroom had a lovely large four poster bed , dressing table and tv. We ate the buffet breakfast on both morning in the hotel and the food was lovely and freshly cooked and the dining and bar area was very modern and pretty. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but we had drinks in the bar and watched the entertainment and it was a great wee atmosphere and really reasonably priced, also the free glass of bucks fizz for the queens birthday was a great wee gesture. We also used the pool , spa and jacuzi and the leisure area was really clean and great to use. This will mot definetly be the first of many visits to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any Premier Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SIOBHANDEVINE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there and what a wonderful review that has put a smile on everyone's face today. We work tirelessly to have all of the above, and more, firmly in place and are always delighted when customers recognise this and post glowing reports.
As ever, if customers try us and then want to return, we consider that a success.
Thanks again, your comments mean a great deal for team morale.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed here about twelve years ago and enjoyed it then. Shearings have spent a lot of money on it and it shows. We paid for a room with a view and it did not disappoint.The room itself had been decorated recently and was very clean. The lounge , bar and restaurant area were very pleasing to the eye and comfortable.We stayed there for four nights on a self drive holiday and were blessed with exellent weather and hotel. Thank you to the staff and management for a holiday to remember .

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there and thanks for this very generous five star review...we are delighted.
You got extremely lucky with the weather, some of my pally wally Scottish friends even went a little bit pink last week ! If this continues they will chuck away the factor 250 and move on to factor 100 and possibly purchase some garden furniture and a disposable BBQ.
Thanks enormously, this is the second five star review today and the whole team are thrilled.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Downstairs this is a very nice hotel.Upstairs the rooms varied. mine was freshly decorated with new furniture. My daughter's room was cheaper but had wallpaper coming of the wall above the radiator.The staff were nice but had poor English skills.This meant ordering good or drinks could be painstaking. The food was well presented and very nice.The pool was good and putting on front lawn was free.Plenty car parking spaces and outside seating.The weather was excellent during our 2 day stay . Fire exit was opened to cool down dining area but still to hot.Efforts should be made to make the Windows openable as in the hot weather a few people were overcome with theat in dining room.Air con would be nice.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hi, a few negatives in amongst the positives and a couple of things for us to check on. Glad you enjoyed the food and Leisure and the weather was pretty much perfect.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,975 reviews
0.4 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
0.6 km away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
420 reviews
0.5 km away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: $101 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just ten minutes walk from the town centre, the historic and recently refurbished Pitlochry Hydro Hotel overlooks the town of Pitlochry itself. The Pitlochry Hydro hotel offers an excellent range of facilities for visitors, including a modern, well-equipped gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. Pitlochry is a superb base for walkers. Ben Vrackie towers above the town, and the Cairngorm Massif is close by to the North. Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch are also easily explored using the hotel as a base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing