We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atholl Villa(Pitlochry)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Birchwood(Pitlochry)
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Atholl Centre(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
346
350
193
87
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
350
193
87
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsscenic viewshearings holidaycaledonian travelmanager chrisdining rooma la carte menujacuzzi and saunacoach driverleisure facilitiesfolk singerevening entertainmentsuperior roomhalf boardrestaurant managermeal times
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We recently stayed here while we were on a Shearings coach trip and I have ticked average but I would have said good but there is nothing between average and very good. The room was very comfortable with a table and 2 chairs to sit at in the window. But it was by the door from the lift and I never understand why people having spent all evening together then stand and chat, often quite loudly at late hours. Form what we saw and heard there had been staffing problems and new staff were being trained so breakfast the first morning was a bit disjointed. However after that they changed it too a buffet style which worked much better. There is a set menu with 3 choices for each course or you can pick off the al la carte menu with a discount. We did this one night for a change but all the food was well cooked and presented. We liked the fact you could collect your coffee afterwards and sit in the very comfortable lounge areas or outside as we did several evenings. There is a very nice indoor pool with other leisure facilities but we only used the pool a relaxing way to finish the day. This hotel is at the top of quite a steep hill and is either a long walk down or you need to be a mountain goat to take the short cut. So if you have difficulty walking this may not be the hotel for you although we did see some people getting taxis up and down from the hotel.. We enjoyed our stay here and as we were on holiday we took everything n our stride. Some areas of the hotel do need some attention but generally we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ardentspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there, och I have to say we are disappointed we couldn't squeeze that extra star from you but it is pleasing to read that all was well and you enjoyed your break.
Maybe next time !
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Found a great wee deal on the Hydro’s website and decided to book it for a last minute weekend in Pitlochry , we also upgraded to a Premier room as a treat. I only had time for a quick look at the hotel website but was hoping for a reasonably ok time when we got there. How wrong was I , the experience was far from ok … it was amazing. From the minute we arrived outside the beautiful old building until the minute we left I cannot fault the place. The staff , the facilities , the food , the building itself … every single thing was great. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The premier room ( room 210) was out of this world. It was a suite with its own living room , bathroom and four poster bed and on arrival there was a fruit basket , chocolate and water waiting in our room , which was a lovely wee touch. The living area was really comfy with a huge tv , couch and table in it and the bedroom had a lovely large four poster bed , dressing table and tv. We ate the buffet breakfast on both morning in the hotel and the food was lovely and freshly cooked and the dining and bar area was very modern and pretty. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but we had drinks in the bar and watched the entertainment and it was a great wee atmosphere and really reasonably priced, also the free glass of bucks fizz for the queens birthday was a great wee gesture. We also used the pool , spa and jacuzi and the leisure area was really clean and great to use. This will mot definetly be the first of many visits to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any Premier Room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SIOBHANDEVINE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there and what a wonderful review that has put a smile on everyone's face today. We work tirelessly to have all of the above, and more, firmly in place and are always delighted when customers recognise this and post glowing reports.
As ever, if customers try us and then want to return, we consider that a success.
Thanks again, your comments mean a great deal for team morale.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed here about twelve years ago and enjoyed it then. Shearings have spent a lot of money on it and it shows. We paid for a room with a view and it did not disappoint.The room itself had been decorated recently and was very clean. The lounge , bar and restaurant area were very pleasing to the eye and comfortable.We stayed there for four nights on a self drive holiday and were blessed with exellent weather and hotel. Thank you to the staff and management for a holiday to remember .

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi there and thanks for this very generous five star review...we are delighted.
You got extremely lucky with the weather, some of my pally wally Scottish friends even went a little bit pink last week ! If this continues they will chuck away the factor 250 and move on to factor 100 and possibly purchase some garden furniture and a disposable BBQ.
Thanks enormously, this is the second five star review today and the whole team are thrilled.
Best Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Downstairs this is a very nice hotel.Upstairs the rooms varied. mine was freshly decorated with new furniture. My daughter's room was cheaper but had wallpaper coming of the wall above the radiator.The staff were nice but had poor English skills.This meant ordering good or drinks could be painstaking. The food was well presented and very nice.The pool was good and putting on front lawn was free.Plenty car parking spaces and outside seating.The weather was excellent during our 2 day stay . Fire exit was opened to cool down dining area but still to hot.Efforts should be made to make the Windows openable as in the hot weather a few people were overcome with theat in dining room.Air con would be nice.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hi, a few negatives in amongst the positives and a couple of things for us to check on. Glad you enjoyed the food and Leisure and the weather was pretty much perfect.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Girlie weekend - Rooms 218 and 225. From the first moment we stepped through the door, the staff couldn't do enough to make us welcome. We were not aware that the last service in restaurant was 8pm and we got there just before that. Restaurant was full, but was advised by a lovely young man that they would serve us in the upper lounge which was delightfully empty as restaurant had 3 large parties in.
Meal was excellent value for money and tasty - especially the cheesecake!
Housekeeping staff to be applauded for keeping the hotel spotlessly clean throughout. Yes, it is an older building and therefore a little worn around the edges in places, but there are huge, comfortable seating areas aplenty, rooms were just fine and really comfy beds. Cannot praise the staff enough for attention. Leisure facilities superb. Would advise anyone to purchase packed lunch at only £4.95 sandwich, crisps, biscuits, water or juice and a piece of fruit - a real bargain and delicious.
We will DEF be back.

Room Tip: Room 225 and 218 good views and comfy.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryHydro, General Manager at The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hi and thanks for a lovely review....I love the heading ! Glad everything was to your satisfaction and that the staff impressed you enough for you to praise them.
I'm delighted that you would like to return as that is our ultimate goal and in many ways what were all about.
Thanks again, much appreciated.
Regards
Chris Stanton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews