We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Family Dinner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Wonderful evening. Great food, attentive staff great atmosphere. Cake was big surprise, staff happy to portion some to take away and served the rest with our coffee. Thank you for making our evening such a success.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Booked this Hotel to cater for a large group, family meal. Unfortunately nobody was impressed by the main courses. Mine was cold and rubbery and certainly not worth the £17.95 charged for two courses. I wasn't asked how the meals were either. Stayed the night in a very cramped room where the miirrors were screwed to the wall (large silver metal screws all round the mirrors). A 13amp extension lead was screwed to the wall (not suitable for a hairdryer and kettle to be used at the same time. Certainly wouldn't conform to regulatons. The bed was badly made, creased covers the valance was all over the place round the bed base. High pillow, got neck ache. A good pont was breakfast, nice setting and the waitress was very attentive. The ensuite was to a also to good standard. Even on check out, I wasn't asked how the meal was or if I enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly. However, I wouldn't use this venue again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Went here for lunch on Saturday. The hotel itself is beautiful. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Meals were really good. I was so happy to see they had a vegan menu as this can be a struggle in some restaurants. Not only that the menu had a lot to offer and what I got tasted amazing. Will be recommending to friends.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The family visit here at least 2-3 times a year for family meals. Never disappointed. Beautiful food,and very nice staff. Been here in parties of up to 9 and the service and food is just as good if you were at a table of 2. First class. Always enjoy going back

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank louiseduffy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

A reasonably regular haunt for the family when visiting the seaside. We received the customary warm welcome and we're promptly seated. Menus and drinks order taken upon seating with a high chair requested for baby.

High chair took 10 minutes to appear at which point food order taken. Food order arrived less cheese on the burger and the burgers overly peppered and too much sweet chilli jam added to the bun, overpowering the taste of the food to the point the spice was all that you could taste.

Staff were attentive but not to past standard. People took to getting up from tables in other rooms to find staff to take drinks orders.

On positive note, kids food very good portion size and excellent quality. We will no doubt be back at children's demand but you can do better Chestnuts! We know you can!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Southsider1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.7 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
2.3 km away
Western House Hotel
0.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
0.6 km away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
252 reviews
1.5 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing