We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
264
80
8
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
80
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegan menu macaroni cheese first class family meal lovely lunch booked a table single room lovely hotel full scottish breakfast ayr beach well worth a visit black pudding return visit stayed here for one night bed and breakfast haggis grant
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Booked this Hotel to cater for a large group, family meal. Unfortunately nobody was impressed by the main courses. Mine was cold and rubbery and certainly not worth the £17.95 charged for two courses. I wasn't asked how the meals were either. Stayed the night in a very cramped room where the miirrors were screwed to the wall (large silver metal screws all round the mirrors). A 13amp extension lead was screwed to the wall (not suitable for a hairdryer and kettle to be used at the same time. Certainly wouldn't conform to regulatons. The bed was badly made, creased covers the valance was all over the place round the bed base. High pillow, got neck ache. A good pont was breakfast, nice setting and the waitress was very attentive. The ensuite was to a also to good standard. Even on check out, I wasn't asked how the meal was or if I enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly. However, I wouldn't use this venue again, unfortunately.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Went here for lunch on Saturday. The hotel itself is beautiful. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Meals were really good. I was so happy to see they had a vegan menu as this can be a struggle in some restaurants. Not only that the menu had a lot to offer and what I got tasted amazing. Will be recommending to friends.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The family visit here at least 2-3 times a year for family meals. Never disappointed. Beautiful food,and very nice staff. Been here in parties of up to 9 and the service and food is just as good if you were at a table of 2. First class. Always enjoy going back

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank louiseduffy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

A reasonably regular haunt for the family when visiting the seaside. We received the customary warm welcome and we're promptly seated. Menus and drinks order taken upon seating with a high chair requested for baby.

High chair took 10 minutes to appear at which point food order taken. Food order arrived less cheese on the burger and the burgers overly peppered and too much sweet chilli jam added to the bun, overpowering the taste of the food to the point the spice was all that you could taste.

Staff were attentive but not to past standard. People took to getting up from tables in other rooms to find staff to take drinks orders.

On positive note, kids food very good portion size and excellent quality. We will no doubt be back at children's demand but you can do better Chestnuts! We know you can!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Southsider1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were looking for somewhere local to celebrate our Birthday that we had not yet visited. And we were not disappointed. Both my (Twin) sister and I and her husband thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We each chose different mains and puddings and all were excellent. And all at a very reasonable price. We will certainly be visiting again.
Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews