We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a very charming setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We have eaten here with family on a number of occasions and always found a varied menu and excellently prepared dishes. The settings are great as is the service you receive.

The Cullen Skink and Steaks are recommended.

There is also a great bar with a fine range of whisky and beers.

There is a good beer garden too for those rare days when the weather allows.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016

a cosy, comfortable, convivial Scottsh hotel, in the golfing county of Ayrshire. A couple of minutes walk from Ayr beach and overlooking the local golf course, it's ideal as a base for exploring the Clyde & Ayrshire coast. The standard of food is of the highest quality, with a lovely ambience in the bar used by both locals & guests, with golfing paraphernalia, though out.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank malxmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We popped in for the off chance for a nice place for lunch and were not disappointed. Busy and told we might have to wait but nice lounge in bar with fire on. Our food was plentiful and service friendly - our wee 8 yr old loved her tempura chicken and chips. Really enjoyed it and would recommend for sure.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We decided to have a family Sunday dinner at the chestnuts in Ayr. Staff are great; very courteous, friendly and attentive. The restaurant is very busy so seems popular. For me, the food was ok but lacked a bit of finesse. I had the duck special but was presented covered in a thick black gravy so couldn't actually see the duck. It was cooked fine but wasn't the most appetising for this reason.
Apart from the coupe, the other desserts we had weren't the most generous of portions for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank PlusTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Wonderful evening. Great food, attentive staff great atmosphere. Cake was big surprise, staff happy to portion some to take away and served the rest with our coffee. Thank you for making our evening such a success.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.7 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
2.3 km away
Western House Hotel
0.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
747 reviews
0.6 km away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
252 reviews
1.5 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing