We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner last Friday”
Review of The Balgarth Pines

The Balgarth Pines
Ranked #24 of 207 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Balgarth Pines is a contemporary, ambient Bar & Restaurant in the bustling suburbs of Ayr providing high quality food & drink in a relaxed, modern and comfortable venue. The familiar buzz of the Bar, has the bartenders offering a superb range of beers, fresh cocktails, selected wines and a warming whisky list. Open 7 days, 9am 'til late.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the best but nothing bad just a bit of a let down. My hubby ordered a fillet steak, was disappointing lacking something- maybe because they do so many at half price the standards have slipped. everything was a bit rushed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I used to frequent the Balgarth Pines on a fairly regular basis but judging by our last visit, it has unfortunately gone downhill steeply. We ordered starters and mains. My starter of chicken tempura was miniscule in portion size and the individual bits of chicken were tiny. It tasted ok but the batter was a bit overdone and overall it was quite dry. My partner ordered the sweet potato and chorizo soup which was so thick and gloopy and didn't really taste of much at all. For our mains, I ordered the Cajun chicken crepes. I have ordered this many times before and it is a favourite of mine however, when I tasted it, it was clear that the recipe had been changed. The sauce was very spicy and peppery to the point where that was all that I could taste. The chips tasted like they were frozen and I couldn't eat them. It went from bad to worse with my partner's lasagne. As soon as he cut into it, we could see the grease and oil come pouring out of it. There was barely any mince in it at all and the mince that was there tasted like the cheap, frozen variety. It was clear to both of us that it had been pre-prepared and then heated up in a microwave due to the soggy texture of the pasta and cheese which covered it. We were extremely disappointed with our meals as we had always been extremely satisfied with the quality of food in the past but what we experienced was far worse that what I could have made at home. When the server took away out plates after out mains she never asked how it was despite most of the food being still on the plates. When we asked for the bill the waitress brought it over and told us to pay up at the bar. Usually it is customary in a restaurant such as this to be brought the card machine at the table but alas, this was not the case on this occasion. Whether the restaurant is trying to cut costs but using cheaper produce or the chefs have changed I do not know but I will not be returning in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Rudyard85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgarth P, General Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate all feedback and use it as a tool to improve our service.
We do have several new Chef's on board our team to supplement the long standing existing ones, to give additional support due to the expansion of the business and we can assure you that we still use fresh local produce and suppliers and are disappointed that this did not show through on this occasion.
The Chicken Crepes continue to be one of our best selling dishes and we consistently recieve compliments to the Chef on them!
It is a shame that you did not let us know at the time that you were not satisfied with your food as this would have given us an opportunity to rectify things for you - we would have been more than happy to ensure that you received a meal that you enjoyed during your visit.
Should you wish to discuss this further then we would be happy to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for the special offer "half prive steak night"
My hubby and i both ordered a fillet steak, OMG it came out it was massive, cooked just right, chips, tomato, onion rings. It was delicious. I would recommend steak night.
We are going to try burger night next. Yum.

Thank ddmsmith67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgarth P, General Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review!
Our steak nights on a Tuesday and Thursday are extremely popular and with the deal running from 12noon till 9pm both days it is a deal not to be missed!
Wednesdays are 50% off Burgers all day and this is another busy day so we would recommend that you phone ahead to book your table or book online through our website Facebook!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for cocktails, staff were lovely but not trained making cocktails. We were told they were too busy to make anything off the cocktail menu, all we asked for was a simple margarita. Very disorganized, staff training might be useful in mixology.

2  Thank dianetruesdale6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgarth P, General Manager at The Balgarth Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We have a cocktail menu available and unfortunately as a Margarita is not on the menu the new staff that were working over the busy weekend were not trained how to make that specific cocktail nor was the bar specifically stocked for it.
They did however make Margaritas despite the bar being extremely busy and it is disappointing that their efforts were not recognised.
We are more than happy to deviate from the menu, more so during quieter times, when this would allow an opportunity to train the staff in various other cocktails that may be requested. It is unfortunate that when you requested them we were operating at capacity due to the fantastic weather and our amazing beer garden which was brimming with thirsty customers and apologise if it appeared that we were being dismissive in any way with your request.
We often produce drinks on request and do our best to accommodate all special requests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall very not a good experience. Some of food inedible. The service was good and the bad food was deducted from the bill but spoiled an otherwise nice meal and one person left without a meal. The waitress said that she thought it was not good when she brought it to table so should not have been delivered to table. This was our first time there and would be reluctant to return.

1  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Balgarth Pines also viewed

 

Been to The Balgarth Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing