We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Ground Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,694)
Filter reviews
1,694 results
Traveller rating
1,021
482
110
56
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
482
110
56
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown hall restaurantthe pubpoets corner barold world charmlovely old hotelold styledining roomtraditional musicshannon airporthotel bargreat atmospheretour grouplovely townlive musictop classlast weekendscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,694 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I always book my last 2 or 3 days in Ireland at the Old Ground because of how close it is to Shannon airport. Everytime the experience gets better and better. The staff is most professional and courteous. They go out of their way to be helpful and it is appreciated.
The rooms are spotless and the public areas are tidy.

Room Tip: ask for the O'Connell suite - room 317
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryGleeson, General Manager at Old Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you John for such a lovely review and in particular for continuing to return to visit.

It is always convenient for guests arriving or departing from Shannon Airport to stay here.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again,

Kind regards,

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is a great hotel.The room was very good and comfortable with all the extras including a safe .No fridge.The food was very good in the bar but was excellent in The Town House restraunt.Breakfast was served at your table.it was excellent.The service was very good and very fast.The staff were very friendly and helpful.It is the ambience and interaction between staff and guests and even guests to guests that ensures you have a smile on your face all day TIP if you are in Clare in September be sure to call to Lisdoonvarna.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We had a superb Sunday lunch in the Dining Room of the Hotel. The entire experience was lovely. Service was excellent and the food cooked perfectly! I like the quaint style of the hotel and I am glad to have taken a little extra care with what I do. Dinner was €23 for three excellent courses. Excellent value!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

After a long flight, this was our first stop, only a 20 min car ride from Shannon airport. The room was ready, comfortable, great beds, and wonderful restaurant at the Poets Corner. We walked down the street in the evening, nice shops, cute little town. Evening fire, couches to relax after a long day. Very lovely hotel, offers a beautiful breakfast in the morning, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehortop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Ground. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable. I'd stay away from the rooms facing the parking lot and the girls school. The girls can be a little noisy in the morning.
The Pub was always busy. Food and drinks were great.
The location could not be better. You're right on the street and you can walk to many other pubs and restaurants as well as many shops and stores.
Great stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews