We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately 18th Century Manse”
Review of Old Ground Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Ground Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This is a beautiful former manse situated in the heart of the city of Ennis. Although it boasts 105 guest rooms, it manages to maintain a family feel. It offers a pub as well as a more formal dining room. The rooms are large and well appointed and the complimentary breakfasts are phenomenal. A great place to stay if you want to get a sense of how the gentry of the day used to live.

Room Tip: Parking is tight and limited, so come early and walk the city on foot. Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FraniDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is an old building with lots of original features to make it quaint. The staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. We were told on booking that the room was small, which was fine because it still had everything in it. The food in the restaurant was delicious and I would rate it in the top 10 I've eaten in in Ireland. Great choice, attention to detail, loved each course but with small extras like pepper sauce, garlic butter and onion marmalade with the steak it was great to have a little of everything. Special mention to Malachy in the restaurant! I also got a panna cotta and it was the best one I've ever had, great wobble and flavour. The bar was good with music and a good crowd in. My only problem was the bed in the small room was a small double, but I will definitely go back and book better in advance for this great spot!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank micihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Very good location for this hotel right in city center. Within just a block or two you can walk to anything you need. The cathedral across the street provided a great view. The staff at the Poets Corner pub, within the hotel, could not have been and more efficient. We were noticed, seated, and served both drink and food in such a short time it was almost scary. It was a nice touch the the owner of the property was moving around within the pub, restaurant, and hotel to keep and eye on things and making contact with his guests.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Great location in Ennis' city center. Across the street from the cathedral, which gave us the added pleasure of hearing the church bells toll the hours.
Rooms are very spacious and nicely appointed. Lobby lounging areas by the fireplace are cozy and inviting.
Staff is excellent. Well trained, friendly, energetic and eager to help. One of our group wanted to visit a local artisans and a front desk staff member even pulled up a Google Earth view to show exactly how to get there and what landmarks to look for.
Breakfast is excellent. There is a formal dining room and an inviting pub, Poet's Corner, with great food and live music.
We will return and spent a couple of weeks instead of a couple of nights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! I am so glad we booked here. We arrived at 9am haven driven from the airport in pure fog. We were hoping we could get an early check- in but never dreamed we could check in so early! The staff could not be nicer. We showered in our spacious room and got to rest up a little before exploring the area. I highly recommend this hotel just 20 mins away from Shannon Airport. Love the ambience of this hotel!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank traveltina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
3 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
524 reviews
0.2 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
868 reviews
2.6 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
7.4 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,324 reviews
19.8 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ground Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ground Hotel

Address: O'Connell Street | Clonroad Beg, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: $142 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Ground Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Ground Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing