We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$287
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$162
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
428
283
109
57
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
283
109
57
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslegends restaurantpreachers pubformer conventexecutive floorcentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelwould highly recommend this hotelhotel restaurantshannon airporttop classcounty clarereception areamain coursesaturday nightbar foodchapel
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. I wish I had gotten the name of the lovely gal at the desk because she gets five stars herself. She went above and beyond to help us with all of our questions and got us on a great tour to the cliffs. The room was cozy and and clean and the Preachers Pub is awesome! Very convenient location right next to the bus stop and shopping as well.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bluewatermoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the food. I have passed your kind comments along to the tam here.

Regards,

Marie Faughnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

This is a very good option for stay in Ennis. Central location. Ample parking. On prior visits to Ennis had stayed at Old Ground which was full.Rooms here are large and comfortable. More modern.Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. First time staying there. Wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the food. We are located in a well positioned aspect of Ennis which is perfect to be close by to all the night life while at the same time well positioned for a quiet nights sleep.

Regards,

Marie Faughnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The hotel seems to be in a good location but most places around it closed around 6pm. We were on a tour so after the day was finished we wanted to enjoy a walk around but nothing really to do. Not sure if this is because of the season or not. Food was great and enjoyed the hotel bar. Friendly staff. The water for the shower at times was very cold.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the food. We are located in a well positioned aspect of Ennis which is perfect to be close by to all the night life while at the same time well positioned for a quiet nights sleep. I have taken your comments regarding the water. You did not mention if you brought this to the attention of the front desk.
I do hope you would consider returning to the Temple Gate Hotel in the future.

Regards,

Marie Faughnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We had 55 people - a mix of adults of all ages and a bunch of children for a family get together in the Temple Gate Hotel in April 2017. About half of the visitors also took a room in the hotel. Comments as follows:

Catering for a diverse part of this size was made significantly easier because both Louise on room bookings and Daragh on event management were excellent-always had time to make recommendations and provide help. It was Daragh's idea for example to put a picture of our grandparents on the menu.

We had a private room with its own bar and we had a drinks reception beforehand in the library just off the reception area. The reception staff and waiting staff were exceptional - extremely polite and couldn't do enough to help.

The meal was excellent - we had an excellent choice of starters, main course and deserts. I had a sirloin steak which I can honestly say was superb. Others had duck, salmon or chicken dishes and I heard only compliments-no complaints.

The night went on until late, the staff looked after us to the bitter end without ever making us feel like we were overstaying. We were served sandwiches gratis around 1.30am and our children were able to play in a big function room beside our dining room which just happened to be free on the particular might we were there.

The rooms were excellent, the rates including the dinner and breakfast were extremely good and for those eating and not staying the meal price was superb and no supplement charged for the steaks.

I have never written a review on tripadvisor before but this was genuinely exceptional. Well done Temple Gate.

Room Tip: nice family rooms available at very good rates
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent visit. We were delighted to host your family gathering and I am happy to see such wonderful comments which I have passed along to the team here.

Thank you,

Regards,

Marie Faughnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Two of us stayed here in a double room for two nights. It's located in the middle of the town within walking distance of lots of things in Ennis. The room was comfortable and we slept well. The decor was a bit dated but otherwise had everything you'd need. We had the breakfast which was very nice with continental and cooked breakfast. The restaurant where the breakfast was served looked so lovely. The building of the hotel is actually really beautiful.The staff were very friendly.

It was a good base for exploring Clare, there are lot of places to visit which are within driving distance.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieFaughnan, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the food. We are located in a well positioned aspect of Ennis which is perfect to be close by to all the night life while at the same time well positioned for a quiet nights sleep. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program which will see all rooms being upgraded aswell as new bedding throughout the hotel.


Regards,

Marie Faughnan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews