We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms small but clean”
Review of Anam Cara B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anam Cara B&B
Ranked #18 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this small and not fancy B&B that is within walking distance to the town centre. It's quite and the prices are very reasonable. Cash only. It's right on the river and has a lovely coffee shop attached. Our breakfast was served in the coffee shop and was excellent. Free parking in the small lot at back of hotel a plus!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking the parking lot, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Good sized comfortable rooms and secure parking to the rear of the B&B. Tim offered really helpful advice and information about the attractions in Cork, and the city centre is only a ten minute stroll away. Breakfast is served in the adjoining bistro, 'Serendipity', and the service and food quality is excellent. Enjoyed a very tasty dinner as well! Great place to stay if you want to spend a day or two exploring the city.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We booked this b&b in two minutes and ever since then it has been a great place! Good food, the owner, Tim, was super helpfull with his recommendations on where to go and get some good crack :) talk to him, he will show you all the great places in Cork and you won't regret going there! The b&b is great, cozy, tiddy and clean with an authentic atmosphere. Big backyard parking, free wifi and all that for a good price. The town centre is a few minutes walk down the road so you wont miss a thing in Cork. And yet, it is located in a non busy street so you can get your peace and quiet. We loved it!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mirna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Ended up here after the place we booked into ran out of space!! Room was FREEZING cold until the evening. Housekeeping need to sort out the following: grime around the plughole in the hand basin, filthy plughole/trap in the shower, GREY edging to the carpet where its not vacuumed properly, NO COVER on the mattress (YUK!), the tea bags are not individually wrapped so all and sundry have handled them and the bathroom was SO COLD I couldn't face showering ........ couldn't wait to get out! This place advertises as recently refurbished but the rooms are tired and shabby

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed at this B& September 28th. I was very disappointed with our room. To begin with, I stood 15-20 min. outside the B&B knocking on the door, ringing the doorbell and calling on the phone to no avail. Finally, just before we were about to go to the hotel across the road to book a room, the owner came to the door.

We were not shown our room - it was a wave of a hand that it was at the top of the stairs.

Our room needed work. The bathroom floor tiles were loose and moved in the grout when we walked across them. The ceiling paint over the shower was hanging and peeling. Other places in the ceiling had cracks running across.

The TV has a total of 4 channels - 2 being snowy. I don't understand being right in a major city.

Our king bed was 2 twins pushed together with a hard ridge in the center - horrible.

Our breakfast was in the little shop next door - which I believe to also be the same owners. It was completely opposite! It was delightful, staff were attentive and the food was excellent.

If as much effort was put into the lodging part of this B&B it would be a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1113Vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Blarney Stone Guesthouse
Centre
Creedon's Bed & Breakfast
Mardyke
Killarney Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anam Cara B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anam Cara B&B

Address: Anam Cara 31 Palace View | Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: S$81 - S$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run B&B (opp The River Lee Hotel) in the B&B district of Cork City. We are adjacent to U.C.C. Breakfast of your choice is included in our rate. We are central to all the City has to offer and convenient for anybody wanting to explore the South of Ireland. We can help organize any trips and information you may require for your stay. We have just opened Cafe Serendipity at the location and this is open from 8 am to 5.30 pm daily (except Sun) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing