We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheilas
Nearby Hotels
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$527
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
43
85
99
54
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
85
99
54
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrekey cardensuite bathroomfree wifidouble beddormpaddysaunastoragepubscobh
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Huge hostel with fantastic staff! Everyone we I twractes with went out of their way for you.
Hostel offers cintinental breakfast for €3, wash, dry and fold laundry for €6 & €9 based on size of load, snacks, hot and cold drinks and internet cafe, free WiFi and other amenities.
Take note that rooms are small and tight. They are also on 3 levels with over 6 flights of stairs to the top.
Popular with groups and individual travellers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank theartisans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I've been travelling for 3 months now and this is the worst hostel I have stayed in. I booked in to a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite. The room has hardly any space to move, but that's forgivable. What's not forgivable is that when you're squishing into this confined space you have to watch out for the mould on the walls. Anyone who has breathing issues, don't stay here. The bathroom is also mouldy and the shower pumps out cold water. Just all around water issues.
The only things this place has going for it is the location, the friendly staff and how cheap it is. You may argue that the pros outweigh the cons and in some ways they do, but to me it just feels like a health and safety hazard, especially since I've stayed in places just as cheap and haven't been bothered by the level of cleanliness.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Alana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Booked a two bedroom en-suite. The rooms are tired and could do with a bit of an upgrade. The shower was one of those where you have to keep pressing a button to get the water to flow - not my favourite.

That said the accommodation did the job at a fair price. I think you have to remember that you get what you pay for. It's not The Ritz but doesn't pretend to be.

Staff were great, particularly Paddy at reception.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This place cost me 17 EUR per night. It was not super clean but not super dirty, breakfast was pretty poor, my bed was comfy even if the room was cramped, and the location is good, very central.

The long walk up the hill was tough.

Everything has to be evaluated against the price. Is this place anything special, no. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay and recognise that the cost reflects the service, then Shelias is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This Hostel was the unfortunate end to a run of great hostels in Ireland. Service is fine but unfortunately doesn't make up for the horrible kitchen and cramped dirty rooms and general feeling of neglect.

Try to grab a spot at another hostel if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews