We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Nearby Hotels
US$378
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Cork)
US$230
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$312
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$203
River Lee Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,585)
Filter reviews
2,585 results
Traveller rating
1,367
850
252
65
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,367
850
252
65
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclarion hotelkudos barthe riveranne mariecork cityhen partythe penthouseoliver plunkett streetcar parkmodern hotelcentral locationbus stationlast weekendgreat weekendexcellent hotelwould highly recommend this hotelcity break
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 2,585 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Definetely not a 4 stars hotel. A well equiped 3 stars for the price of a 5.
The website says: good for business and leisure. I would say, for business ok (not top) but leisure definitely no. If you stay 5 days and afford over 1.100e, being that long, surely you decide for the hotel by what shows at webpage suggests: pool, gym availability.
Gym is tiny. Badly ventilated. The machines hardly fit the space. All day full, usually youngsters. I noticed however that staff do not apreciate young customers that are staying at HOTEL and probably paying much more (see the fares for this hotel!) than those who young gym-monthly ticket payers. Rather than same young hotel customers with their parents/coach.
Pool is small, dark place. Kids not welcome even staying with parents as staff is not very family-friendly trained.
Although only part of staff at gym/pool talking rudely, anyway, it drops down the whole staff image because not all customers stay 5 nights to finally notice who is well equiped to deal with HOTEL CLIENTS and those who are prepared only to do "gym basic work" and probably will be unpolite to hotel guests.
All in all, felt an arrogance from reception till pool staff. In fact, felt "stress in the air". And that overlaps anyother possible good quality that a pricey hotel aiming for 4 stars can be.
I do not wish to get an answer/excuse about how good you are, that you follow safety rules, that only on those exactly days one is at hotel that was "bad luck day", that everything on your eyes are great as I read in your former replies. In case you think all is good on your eyes what can an opinion change? It does not help how much you invest in changing the mirrors of bathroom if you can not change the arrogant mentality of the workers.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank timtim66timtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton C, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you timtim66timtim for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We feel poorly that you felt our ClubVitae Health and Fitness Club was not up to the standard you expected.

To be honest, we were rather surprised to hear your comments regarding our ClubVitae facilities and lack of guest service from the team. Many of our hotel guests and members alike have grown very fond of the state of the art gym equipment and the friendly service they receive from our employees.

We can assure you that we treat all individuals using our facilities whether it's our younger cliental or a family all the same. We take great pride in being a welcoming facility for everyone to use and enjoy.

If you have any additional feedback to provide further insight regarding your ClubVitae experience I encourage you to contact me directly at swatson@claytonhotels.com so that I can investigate into the matter and follow up with you accordingly.

Again, we thank you for taking the time to share you experience and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Shelby
Guest Relations Manager

We apologise that you left our property feeling you did not receive the experience you should have from a 4 star property leisure facility.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Great hotel and excellent location to downtown Cork. The staff was very helpful. We accidentally ended up at this location instead of the silver spring location and the front desk helped us switch our hotel reservation which was a great decision. Loved being downtown and able to walk everywhere.

The room was very clean and roomy for three people. Loved the fact there was one double bed and two twin beds. Also liked the fact that the bathroom was in a hall area leading to the hotel room door. It was away from the bed area for privacy.

The bar was very nice and reasonable. Ordered a round of drinks while we played cards. We did not purchase the breakfast since we were downtown and lots of options.

Now for the flip side of the hotel. Parking was underground and cost extra, which wasn't necessarily a surprise since we were downtown. There was only one lane in and out of the garage so have to be careful to make sure no one else was coming. Also, we were on the second floor so couldn't leave the windows open since the gas fumes would come into the room.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I spent 2 nights before Easter. Good location in central Cork. the Hotel is very big but still friendly and welcoming. Staff is great and ready to help you. Room was big and clean with a nice view. Breakfast was good. I paid 100€ per night.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFranchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton C, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you Mr.Franchini for taking the time to share your experience online with us.
We are happy to hear that our friendly team made you feel so welcome during your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Clayton Hotel Cork City.

Kind Regards,

Shelby
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Myself and 5 girls booked the Clayton on a Sunday night for a night away. We got a good rate on 2 triple rooms. Happy days!

The staff on check in were so helpful and spent time informing us on the city hotspots.
The room was both modern and comfortable and had a great shower!
We ate in the bar which was Thai. Wow it was delicious!! The
Clayton is a real gem as its location is amazing, we were a 5 min walk from all the nice bars cork had to offer. The following morning after a great b.fast we all had a swim and jacuzzi and walked down to Brown Thomas for a spot of shopping! All round SUPER SPOT!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 975aaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton C, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you 975aaa for taking the time to write us such a lovely review!

We are so delighted to hear that you and your girls were able to take full advantage on our city centre location and enjoy all that Cork City has to offer.

It's wonderful that made time to enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet and a swim afterwards, sounds like it was just what the doctor would have ordered!

We hope we get the chance to welcome you ladies back soon here at Clayton Hotel Cork City.

Kind Regards,

Shelby
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Room was very comfortable and large. Room had 1 twin and 1 queen bed with a table and chairs near the window facing the atrium. Hotel was very modern. Breakfast was standard buffet fare and very tasty. Good hotel, good service.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton C, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cork City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you George O for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at Clayton Hotel Cork City.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast buffet and our team was able to look after you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Shelby
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews