We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything I needed included breathtaking view”
Review of Island View House

Island View House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View House
Ranked #22 of 45 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Island View House took us at the end of the day, impromptu. The place is lovely and is situated on a hill overlooking Donegal Bay. The view from my window was so inspiring and restful. The proprietors were nothing but kind and helpful, even with my gluten free needs for breakfast.

My room had everything I needed, plenty of outlets for recharging, a clean and well lit restroom, a tea-station and local information. Wow.

Everything was impeccable.

I now know if I go back to Donegal, I know where to stay, worry free.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, ask. If you prefer no road sounds, let them know so you can be at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGermanSwedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed two nights at this B&B. The room we had was facing the view of the island. It was reasonably priced and included a breakfast that we ordered the night before. The couple that run this B&B were a bit more reserved than other places we stayed but Bernadette was very, very helpful and full of information for us! She recommended we go see the cliffs of Sleave League which were awesome. She also directed us to a laundrette as we needed some clean clothes :-) WiFi signal was strong and the room and en suite were clean and pleasant. I would recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We've only stayed at the Island View House for one night on our 2-day trip through the northwest of Ireland, and arrived quite late (checked in at 7PM, then arrived at about 11PM from a short evening trip to Slieve League). That said, we didn't really have enough time to enjoy the place or to visit the town...

Our triple room was nice, large with enough space, and most importantly - very clean. The beds were comfortable and the small en-suite bathroom was just fine. Having an electric kettle to make some evening tea was just great! Breakfast was fine and our hosts were very kind. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Immutability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had a very satisfactory stay at this B&B, our host Bernadette was friendly and very kind. Rooms/bath were clean and functional, breakfast fine, quiet, location with a great view. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed 2 days with Bernadette in Donegal. We really enjoyd our stay and we really enjoyed Donegal. It is a charming city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
17.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
803 reviews
21.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
17.6 km away
Haywoods B&B
Haywoods B&B
#18 of 45 in Donegal Town
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Eas Dun Lodge
Eas Dun Lodge
#9 of 45 in Donegal Town
134 reviews
15.2 km away
The Cove Lodge B&B
The Cove Lodge B&B
#1 of 45 in Donegal Town
370 reviews
17.4 km away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#3 of 45 in Donegal Town
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House

Address: Ballyshannon Road | Tullaghcullion, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $139 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing