We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY NICE PLACE”
Review of Island View House

Island View House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View House
Ranked #22 of 45 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Spacious bedroom,with a small bathroom.
Amazing breakfeast 2 prices (6 or 12 euros)
The choice is very important, the one at 6€ it's more than enough
A nice view, good location at 5minutes to city center
Great welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arnaud p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed here while researching heritage in Donegal. The proprietors were delightful individuals. We had a very delightful room with a view of the island. Bernadette was quick to answer our reservation request made a month before arrival. She was also quite helpful in giving direction of where we wanted to go. The breakfast was excellent. No way can one go away hungry.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CaptSeahog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The Island View is wonderfully located just outside of Donegal, so it was very easy to zip into town. Our room was spacious, with an exceptional view. The beds were comfortable and cozy. Our hostess Bernadette was friendly and very informative about the area. Breakfast was delicious, this was a great way to start our adventures in County Donegal. There are many excellent restaurants in town. We liked the Olde Castle Bar so much we dined there twice, on amazing seafood. Wandering around town, seeing the castle, the obelisk in the town square, the river, etc. was very enjoyable. The people of Donegal are very friendsly, but don't waste any of your time at the tourist center though! The women working there are very good at NOT welcoming you, all they were good for were averted glances, LOL!! If you want to take a boat excursion from the Donegal dock, get there early, before the tide goes out!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We had the room at the front of the house on the second floor with a great view of the island from our window. Bernadette and her husband did a great job of making us feel welcome and feeding us a breakfast fit for a king. The rooms were clean and cozy and the home was close to town. We set out from here to see the Slieve League cliffs and then a tour of Donegal county before ending up in Donegal town in the evening. You won't be disappointed with this place.

Room Tip: Top floor front room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DantheManfromCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

In TripAdvisor they have 3 stars. From me and my wife they became 5 stars....... ok 4 3/4 ; they have not 24 hours laundry. Miss Dowt was very friendly have tipps for sightseeing and a card from county donegal, the brakefest was enough for the full day. The room was very nice, clear, every day fresh towels.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
17.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
802 reviews
24.2 km away
Eas Dun Lodge
Eas Dun Lodge
#7 of 45 in Donegal Town
134 reviews
17.6 km away
Haywoods B&B
Haywoods B&B
#18 of 45 in Donegal Town
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
The Cove Lodge B&B
The Cove Lodge B&B
#2 of 45 in Donegal Town
370 reviews
18.5 km away
Ard na Breatha
Ard na Breatha
#5 of 45 in Donegal Town
352 reviews
17.4 km away
The Gateway Lodge
The Gateway Lodge
#3 of 45 in Donegal Town
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House

Address: Ballyshannon Road | Tullaghcullion, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range: $139 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing