We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.60*
and up
EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum Tour
Ranked #11 of 575 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: EPIC is a modern museum in Dublin’s Docklands that tells the moving and unforgettable story of the 10 million Irish people who left their homeland, & how they influenced and shaped the world. The world’s only fully digital museum features 1,500 years of Irish history in its atmospheric vaults. Experience this breathtaking story in interactive galleries, with a feast of powerful audio & video bringing these one-of-a-kind tales to life. Shortlisted for European Museum of the Year 2018, this top-rated, family-friendly attraction is an essential destination for everyone with an interest in Ireland’s people, culture and history. Relive some of the greatest achievements in music, literature, sport, business, politics, fashion & science. EPIC also houses the Irish Family History Centre, with a team of genealogy experts to help visitors uncover their Irish roots. Also nearby is the Jeanie Johnston Tall Ship & the Famine Memorial Sculpture. Last entry is 5:00pm, museum closes at 6:45pm
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 30 March 2018

While walking through Dublin we saw this and decided to check it out. We enjoyed our visit which gave us a foundation for our 9 day tour of Ireland. The displays cover various aspects of Irish history and culture.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank BunnySpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi BunnySpalding,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interactive displays"
in 78 reviews
"irish roots"
in 40 reviews
"modern technology"
in 22 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 45 reviews
"left ireland"
in 21 reviews
"irish descent"
in 26 reviews
"all ages"
in 92 reviews
"family history"
in 29 reviews
"audio guide"
in 26 reviews
"two hours"
in 46 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 42 reviews
"own pace"
in 36 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 36 reviews
"stamp"
in 173 reviews
"heritage"
in 96 reviews
"stomping"
in 60 reviews
"immigrants"
in 24 reviews
Filter

290 - 294 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Me and a friend visited here after the Guinness storehouse. Can't fathom why the storehouse is rated so highly even though it's a nice enough place. I really enjoyed the EPIC museum - I imagine it would be especially interesting for Irish-americans or anyone with Irish ancestry. I found it really interesting and I'm jist plain Irish!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Edel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Edel N,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! While having Irish roots is certainly a great reason to visit EPIC, we regularly receive positive feedback from people with no Irish ancestry at all and locals, alike!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I went there because one of my friends recommend it and I don't regret deciding to go because I found it really interesting. The way the exhibition is made is really cool and you can get to know more about why the irish people had to emigrate.
What I liked the best was the idea of a "passport" that they give to everyone and you can stamp it on every room and then keep it so you have a little "souvenir" that reminds you of the exhibition, I found that a really good idea!
The staff working there was really nice and if you had any question they were always pleased to help.
If you are reading this because you don't know whether or not to go, please, go, you won't regret it! :)

1  Thank thatsoclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi thatsoclau,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We regularly receive positive feedback regarding the passport feature, it's great everyone seems to love it! Our staff are thankful for your kind comments.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This is a wonderful museum that offers a wealth of experience and information. Must see if visiting Ireland. I think this museum would be good for children around 10 and older.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Amy S,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Overall our feedback from families who visit with young children is all positive. They really enjoy the space and the interactive exhibits, even if the material would be too advanced for them. This is why children aged 5 and under are admitted free of charge.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

It's said that there are more Irish born people outside of Ireland than in - and this museum definitely gives a great perspective into the millions of Irish people throughout the last 200 hundred years who made the journey to places like Canada, America, England, Australia, and New Zealand. Having ancestors who left Ireland in the mid-1800's, this was a great way to find how my own story fit into the Irish story. Enjoyed the stamp card "Passport" that you get at the beginning - at every room you stamp it before you go on to the next one - great way to navigate through the museum. My fav. parts were the first few galleries - all about leaving Ireland and the reasons why and what life was like in your new country. My other fav. parts were the library where there were interactive books you could "pull' from the shelf to hear an excerpt of a famous Irish author's work, and the section on Irish music and dancing - footsteps on the floor lead you around the small room in a jig step. I spent some time there jigging around!

Thank Blythe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G, The EPIC Team at EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Blythe H,

Thank you for visiting EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We regularly receive feedback regarding our passport feature, it's great that so many people love it!

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

Kind Regards,

William,
The EPIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing