We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$377
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$303
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$306
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$320
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$177
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$283
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,934)
Filter reviews
1,934 results
Traveller rating
845
550
297
135
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
845
550
297
135
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoctagon bartemple barcleaver east restaurantriver viewthe penthousemini barlovely hotelstreet noisedublin castlethe location is perfecttrinity collegegrafton streetbonoliffeyirelandpubsnightlife
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,934 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I Know that place since 2006. It was my Hotel for the Dublin Marathon. And it was a U2 choice ;-). It is well designed Hotel. I love this strong style. Reduced with a fine taste for details. Best Service. Best Breakfast.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W8445XIhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Clarence. It's great to read such positive comments and we hope to see you back again for the marathon later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My husband and I live in California and own a holiday home in Co. Clare. We often stay in a night in Dublin when we arrive and almost always stay at the Clarence. The location is great for getting around the city center and the service is friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a lovely suite on this stay. We will definitely keep coming back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TerryJH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Clarence and to know that you enjoyed this return visit. We were glad to be able upgrade you on this occasion and we look forward to seeing you next time you're on the way to Clare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The positives: most of the staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel is located right on the River Liffey and Temple Bar (although that means it’s noisy), the beds and bathrooms are fine, and the restaurant/deli next door is great. The negatives: most everything else. There is virtually no decor. There is no lobby, only a small, spartan sitting room. The elevator fits 4 max, two with luggage. The hotel is not secure. The rooms have no decor. The pullout mattress was prison issue. The air/heat works poorly. We had space heaters in our room which was disconcerting. There were noises from the bars, the street, and lord knows where else. And a couple staff were not very helpful. We knew it was old, but it is advertised as boutique and it is not. It is a mediocre flop suitable for a night of partying but not for families.

Room Tip: Avoid the pullout beds and bring earplugs.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gumdrop216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We appreciate your opening kind comments about the team here though we are of course disappointed to read the rest of the review, and while we appreciate feedback in all it's forms as it can provide us with opportunity for improvement where possible, I feel it only fair to correct most of the incorrect statements you make in your review. There is a lobby, quite a considerable amount of the ground floor is the lobby and reception area. The lift is an appropriate size for a hotel of only 51 bedrooms and we provide a concierge service so you do not need to transport luggage to and from rooms yourself. The hotel is secure and staffed 24 hours a day. Our rooms are decorated though perhaps in a style that was not to your liking and this differs from "no decor". Additional heaters were placed in your room for your own comfort as it was unusually cold in Ireland at the time of your stay. We are confident that that The Clarence is not mediocre, but simply a hotel that is not the style you may usually go for. We are fully aware that we cannot be to everyone's taste, but to call the hotel a "mediocre flop" is simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our rooms were ready much earlier than expected which was enormously helpful as we flew in from Philadelphia and arrived, exhausted, around 6:30 am. The desk staff (particularly during the day) are professional, accommodating, and friendly. When we arrived back at the hotel around 1 pm (because honestly we were absolutely delirious at that point) we found our rooms were ready and they had already delivered our bags to the room. The room was lovely, cozy (and NOT in a dusty old way), well appointed and spacious. We had a tiny balcony with two chairs that added to the charm. There was a terrific bathroom--modern and lots of room for makeup and toiletries--plus a deep tub and shower with lovely water pressure. The towels are enormous, they provide a hair dryer and typical amenities like soap, body wash, shampoo, etc. THE BED IS SO COMFORTABLE! I can't stress this enough. I miss it. The room also had a small fridge, mini bar with some snacks and drinks (fee), and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes plus a full length mirror. There is a lovely room off the lobby which we dubbed the room of requirement as we used it to meet up, have drinks, and even ate a slice of pizza once from the lovely shop next door (Dollard & Co. will be your new best friend). There is a restaurant attached (something Cleaver?) and we ate brunch and dinner there (pretty good). The hotel even left a large chocolate Easter egg in everyone's room on Saturday which was really nice. I loved it so much and am really glad I stayed there. We were with a group and most of us stayed at the Clarence but I almost chose another spot and finally decided to join the majority and thank God! I will return for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shannon_b21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It was our pleasure to have you stay here at The Clarence over the Easter weekend and it certainly reads as though you enjoyed many aspects of it including Cleaver East. We hope you'll choose to stay here again if you ever visit Dublin in the future and we look forward to making it just as memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The location of the hotel was phenomenal. The concierge and front desk people were extremely helpful and courteous. The room accommodations were beyond my expectations based on the price for the 5th floor. The shower was a little small because of the size of the tub. I would stay here again without thinking twice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stevedoc535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It's great to read such a positive review and that you would stay here at The Clarence again. We hope it's not too long before we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews