We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$252
US$241
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$371
US$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$326
US$312
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$225
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$178
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$180
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,327
US$217
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,018)
Filter reviews
3,018 results
Traveller rating
1,184
1,164
394
170
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
1,164
394
170
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treedoubletree by hiltonthe executive loungecity centretaxi ranknice hotelbuilding workair conditioningbusiness tripst stephensbar foodhotel baraviva stadiumconferenceconciergetaxisireland
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 3,018 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Clayton Hotel saves our Bublé Trip
After a Deplorable Experience at another Hotel , we Booked in to the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road close to Midnight & What a Fantastic Experience it was .. Zolton was Front of House & got someone to Make sure our room was perfect before we went up , It was Cool, Light & Airy on the 7th Floor, after a Great Night's Sleep we went to the Diningroom for Breakfast .. And it's a Well Run Ship with Tommy & Saul at the Helm, A Warm Greeting & Welcoming Smile for All it's Guests . And both continually asking as they passed seating other Guests if everything Ok or would you care for Anything Else !!! A Fantastic Array of Cooked , Savoury , Sweet, Baked , Cold Platters, Yougurts , Fruits , Juices, Teas & Coffee to Tickle the pickiest Taste Buds . Totally Efficent in a Most Unassuming Manner
100% Customer Satisfaction !!!
As Clayton Motto Says
✨"Your Stay Your Way "✨
Give Us the Clayton Way any Day !!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O, Customer Service Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hello Joan,

Just wanted to message you back to say a big thank you from the team here at the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road for the lovely comments and the excellent score you have awarded us. Zolton, Tommy & Saul will be delighted for the mention and we are very proud to bring this to the attention to the management team at our next meeting.

Really hope to see you again soon and the team would be delighted to welcome you back.

Again, thank you so much for the time and custom you gave us as it is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Daniel O' Connor
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Not all rooms have air conditioning extremely hot when we were there, asked for a room cooler which helped,the reception appeared poorly trained but eventually worked the problems out, Hotel was good overall, great position 20 minute walk to city or bus out front. posting form GPO in the city was fabulous Andy at post office the best customer service guy I have ever encountered in a public job and good value.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O, Customer Service Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hello Michael H,

Very pleased to read that your overall experience and stay was one of such high standard going on the scoring you gave the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road to which we are very grateful.

I am aware that you have highlighted a couple of issues which is great as we really do appreciate all feedback to help us develop our services and standards, I have passed the comments to the Front Office Manager to allow her work with the team regarding their training.

Again, thank you for your kind review and feedback, we hope to welcome you back to us again very soon.

Kind Regards
Daniel O' Connor
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Have been going to this hotel for years, about 15 to be exact. Have never been disappointed to br fair. So close to Saint Stephen’s green it only takes a 15 minute walk. Staff are always friendly and professional and the Maître d’ at breakfast is so charming and professional, he has been welcoming us for breakfast for years and it’s a pleasure seeing him every time we stay.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Damian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O, Customer Service Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hello Damian L,

Just messaging you back to say thank you for your time, extremely kind scoring and comments you gave while filling out your review
It is really satisfying to know our team at the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road is doing a good job in so many areas and honestly really excited to pass the comments to the other team members at the next meeting especially regarding Tommy in the breakfast room.

We are very grateful for the review, thank you once again and we all here hope to see you again someday soon.

Kindest Regards
Daniel O' Connor
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Daggy old hotel that has had a lot of money spent on it to make if look fresh however lacks facilities to make it comfortable and the staff are one dimensional. (Check in nicely but couldn’t be bothered after that.)

The hotel rooms are not air conditioned and only one window per room tilts 10 cm to ventilate the room meaning they are stifling on a warm day and very noisy from from the trucks servicing the ballrooms as the hotel mostly serves as a second tier function centre.

It took 4 attempts to get a working fan. One provided was disgustingly dirty (see pic) and didn’t even work. A manager had to get involved to bring one that worked and even he complained about the poor design of the hotel.

The minibar fridge didn’t work at all and again, multiple calls to get it replaced with a reception staff member even arguing with me over the phone to ‘stop calling it a fridge’ because it is a ‘cooler’ and not a fridge... mute argument given it wasn’t even cooling whatsoever and the engineer on two visits agreed. (Engineering staff were pleasant and firstly tried to reset it then replaced it but calls to reception to organise this were made light of.)

Requested portable ac never arrived despite two requests... one request was even at the front desk in person due to the repeated ignorance of requests made by phone.

Water from the taps was disgusting. Most people drink the water from taps in Ireland however the water at this hotel was brown. See pics. Staff provided 1 bottle of still water per day (330ml) and asked for payment for more. On the final day they relented and had more available at reception free but they would not send any to the room.

The only good thing about the stay was the speed room service arrived with buckets of ice. Given the front desk being flustered and we purposely chose not to eat there.

Parking is paid at €13 per day however you have to brave the queues and attitude of reception staff to get your ticket validated each time you leave. There is an underground carpark but only one dangerous shared entry/exit driveway and no way to get into the hotel from the carpark. Everyone is therefore forced to park outdoors as even if you use the underground carpark you have to go outside and around the length of the property to get inside.

It’s a big old place that has been prettied up but that hasn’t made it functional.

The staff seem to think they are providing great service by going through the motions of standard pleasantries but the delivery is sorely lacking.

There’s better places and better value for money with genuine service standards elsewhere in Dublin. Only stay here if you are attending a function in one of the ballrooms and intend on getting so drunk you won’t care about the service or facilities.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RJB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O, Customer Service Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hello RJB1234,

Thank you for your review, I know that during your stay you did highlight several issues with several team members over your four night stay and I am sorry that we could not help with all the issues in a satisfactory way.

I am also sorry you did not have the time to discuss your stay on departure with me but have found your online review helpful and will use this feedback to help train and focus in on the areas you have highlighted.

I do sincerely apologies for the water issues in our system, I have passed your information and details from your stay to our maintenance team to investigate and to rectify.

Kind Regards
Daniel O' Connor
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Asked specifically when I booked and when checking in if the room had air conditioning as it was unusually hot. I was assured the room had AC. When we got to the room the “AC” was a fan that basically blew over water making it no cooler but extremely humid and the window only cracked open 2 inches. I called down and they assured it would cool the room they just needed to refill it with ice. It did NOT cool. Two long MISERABLE nights. The room was prepaid for and Hotel availability in Dublin is not that great so we were stuck.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel O, Customer Service Manager at Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hello Christi M,

I would like to start by thanking you’re for the time spent on writing a review for our property, I am sorry to read that your experience did not live up to your desired expectations and that due to communication error you ere given wrong information regarding the A/C for your stay.

The Clayton Hotel Burlington Road unfortunately has a very small number of rooms that carry A/C units and the room type which was booked for yourself (triple room or Double single room) does not have A/C. This is an area which our management team and company highlighted when we took over in 2017 and is an area which we are currently working on to install all 502 bedrooms with brand new A/C and Heating units but works completion will not for some months to come.

Hopefully on completion of this large works program we can look forward to a return stay from yourself and a more comfortable and relaxing time with us.

Kindest Regards
Daniel O' Connor
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews