We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is no Four Seasons !!!”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Four Seasons was fully booked so I thought this would be comparable. It wasn't even close. The doorman was great so it all started fine. Our bags were sent straight up another plus. The hotel and rooms are tired and need refreshing. The lobby and salon carpets are so tattered and stained you can't even make out if they had a pattern at one time. We met up with family and had cocktails in our room. I had just bought some newgrange martini glasses and made the drinks myself. We went for dinner downstairs in the Cellar restaurant which was great. Came back late and tired so we just went to bed. The blanket was so thin it really was just a sheet and the bed was uncomfortable. We went sightseeing the next day and when we returned our room had been cleaned and my martini glasses gone. After numerous calls to housekeeping and finally management I was told they found my glasses but they had fallen off a tray and had all broken. Someone came to the room with an apology and a bottle of cheap champagne. They took the empty box and explained they would find replacements which they did the next day. They also let anyone reserve tables in the salons and bars so if you come back to your hotel and want to have a mid afternoon bite you can't because every seat and table is reseved. Aren't you supposed to take care of your guests first. I'm sorry when you stay at a hotel that is supposed to be five star things like this just shouldn't happen

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rwagner999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear rwagner999,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I was so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that the hotel did not live up to your expectation.

I am particularly sorry that we inadvertently removed your glasses from the bedroom and broke them but I am pleased that we were able to replace them quickly.

On a separate note, we were particularly pleased and delighted to read your very kind comments about the Cellar Restaurant in a separate review.

I hope your experience will not deter you from revisiting us at some point in the future when I assure you of our best attention and one of our newly refurbished bedrooms.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,799 - 2,803 of 3,528 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I just had a brief one night stay here and we really enjoyed it. Contrary to the previous reviewer I found the receptionist very pleasant and helpful. The room was fine, nothing spectacular but overall we found the staff exceptionally pleasant and helpful and they were always willing to offer assistance. The staff were the best part of this hotel! One gripe I had was that I incurred an additional charge for eggs benedict at breakfast (which wasn't worth it!!) while my husband's full Irish breakfast looked much more appetising and was included in our B&B rate!! But that was just one very small complaint during what was overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FJNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear FJNM,

I am writing to thank you very much for take the time to post such a lovely review about the Merrion on Tripadvisor recently.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel so much and I note your comment about the breakfast surcharge and we will review this to see if there is a more efficient manner in which we can deal with this.

I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future and to that end if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards


Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

When will hotels and hotel staff realise you need more than a decent location to equate to 5 stars?!?

Dirty, tired in desperate need of a good scrub and refurbishment, The Merrion Hotel is definitely not somewhere I would recommend to a friend.

Genuinely shocked by my other trip adviser member reviews of this hotel ( sincerely feel they may not be genuine)
Unfortunately the experience my husband and I had was not a positive one.

Reception staff were loud, rude and could not have been more unwelcoming.
We had the unfortunate experience of being checked in by Kye, awfully unfriendly and unpersonable for a front of house staff member.

I have to say though that this unwelcoming nature is certainly not representative of Ireland and Dublin specifically. I am irish myself and was in Dublin for a short stay, we were expecting a pleasant stay similar to what we have had in the Sherbourne Hotel or The Westbury Hotel.

So if you overlook the rude reception staff, the disappointment continues.
We booked a street view suite, and as one of their supposed 'better' rooms, I was disgusted to see how shabby and dirty it was!! The carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks...perhaps ever!
The soft chairs had rips that would be impressive for an unsupervised Alsatian dog to make! Truly disgraceful for what claims to be a 5 star hotel. The comforter on the bed had better days if you know what I mean! A lot of discolouration in general to the soft furnishings.

The lift smelled like fish from the day we arrived to the day we departed-unsure why.

Breakfast, again disappointing. Hot breakfast was ironically-cold.

Unlike almost any other hotel in Dublin city, this hotel has No atmosphere at all. I guess the staf have something to do with creating a positive buzzy atmosphere in a hotel, and so this probably explains the lack of...
Only redeeming feature was the friendly porters and concierge. Unfortunately u really only come across them when leaving and arriving..... In between u have to pass the dreadfully unhappy and creepy reception staff.

Most importantly;
This hotel is Not a 5 star!
Don't be fooled, perhaps if you get a good deal then book it, as the location is good, not as good as the shelbourne and westbury but good if you get a deal, otherwise don't book it, you will be disappointed and regret it.

Room Tip: Book street view room, at least the street might detract from the dreadful dirty interiors! Also ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank 321London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This will be the 6th yearly treat to the Merrion. Last time we stayed we were upgraded to a suite as we were regular visitors. Wow.......overlooking the government buildings, we could watch for celebs driving up. (You almost always see at least 2 celebs here).
It's an absolute must for a special pampering. you really are looked after like royalty. Everyone is so friendly though. No pomp or ceremony at all. x

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honesty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear a w,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted on Tripadvisor recently.

We were genuinely delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay and in particular that you have done so over such a long period of time.

We too look forward to welcoming you back and if there is anything in particular we can do to help your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards.

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Had a wonderful weekend in the Merrion Hotel on the 2nd & 3rd March 2012. The service & been made feel so special for the weekend will leave an everlasting memory of my stay in this unique hotel. Helene

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_PMacCann, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Helene M,

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review that you posted on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. Everybody here was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the stay and comments as kind as yours make our job so much more worthwhile.

We all hope that we get to welcome you back for your 61st birthday if not before.

Kind regards.

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,648 reviews
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,239 reviews
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.2 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $374 - $1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing