We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Living”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I stayed at the Merrion for one night and then my husband joined me for a long weekend.
It was perfect.

The service is excellent. Tea in the gracious Georgian drawing rooms was a perfect respite after a morning of sightseeing.
The location is fantastic. We walked everywhere. We will always remember sipping a night cap in the bar next to a warm fire and then wandering back to our lovely room made up for the night.
Highly recommend it,.

Room Tip: We had a lovely garden room It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ICFD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and your stay then is as perfect as the last one.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on our anniversary and had a fantastic time. The room was exceptionally comfortable, excellently equipped and the bed was incredible. Someone had left a personalised note to congratulate us on our anniversary with gorgeous sweets. The brilliant service from incredible staff there really stood out for us especially with the friendly greeting and parking service through to reception and the spa area. The high customer service levels make it a true gem in Dublin.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I always look forward to my stays at the Merrion. It is first class elegance all the way. The staff are so warm and welcoming, the food is outstanding and the accommodations are the utmost in comfort. The public spaces are elegantly decorated and simply lovely to be in and the location cannot be beat. The Merrion is simply one of my favorite places in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experiences with us following your stays at The Merrion.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and all of us here hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I stayed at this hotel because the heating at the Shelbourne was not working and could not be fixed. Its a nice and the people helped me to settle in by offering me a warm Irish Coffee which was a nice touch. It was a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at The Merrion and for your wonderful feedback.

I have shared your encouraging comments with all the team here who join me in thanking you. We are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The Merrion is in a perfect location for exploring Dublin. From the moment of check in till our departure we had a wonderful experience. The room was very spacious and was well appointed as was the bathroom. It was not only beautiful but had all of the amenities you would possibly need. We only had breakfast here and it was very good. As a travel agent I would highly recommend this hotel to my clients.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NJRoseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and that you have more time with us the enjoy the surroundings and facilities on offer here at The Merrion!

With best wishes,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,514 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,160 reviews
2.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,662 reviews
0.6 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $388 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing