We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merrion Hotel, Dublin”
Review of The Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Merrion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This is a very expensive hotel but you definitely get what you pay for i.e. it delivers on every level in terms of quality, service, food, accommodation - it is hard to fault it, I will definitely go back

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank michaelkD2198FZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as enjoyable at this one.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 3,485 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

The Merrion is the quintessential high end hotel. Very proper service. Room was lovely, bed and pillows extremely comfortable, beautiful bath. Elegance all around. In the heart of Dublin so restaurants and pubs are within 1/2 block. Easy walking distance to the main pedestrian mall Grafton St. as well as Trinity College and other top sites of Dublin. The Cellar Bar was closed for 8 days of renovation when we were there which was unfortunate because I had looked forward to experiencing that. Over all a very lovely stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BBCC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We stayed at the Merrion for five days and it is one of the finest hotels I which I have ever stayed (including the Regent in Berlin, Grosvenor Square in London, Shanga La in Singapore). This is a true five star property. Incredibly attentive staff in an amazing historic property. We stayed in the old section that is a collection of early town houses linked together, one of which is where the Duke of Wellington was born. Everything is exceptional, from the concierge, to staff who respond to the smallest request, to turn down service. This is the best hotel in Ireland and is centrally located across from government buildings and near St. Stephens Green and Merrion Square--absolutely lovey parks. The in house restaurant (Cellar) is wonderful for a great Irish or continental breakfast and also as a dinner or lunch option. The Michelin two starred Patrick Guilbaud restaurant is also in the building complex. Also, something I have never seen in any other hotel, the Merrion has an extensive art collection and there is an exceptionally well done audio guide and booklet to do a self-guided tour. Don't miss the James Joyce statue in the hotel's lovely garden. In short, this was a very memorable stay and we will be back. My highest recommendation for this world-class hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old quarter overlooking at Merrion Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dejindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the absolutely wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind feedback about the team and the facilities here at The Merrion. I must say we are greatly encouraged when we read comments like yours; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. We are honoured that you chose The Merrion to be your hotel for your visit to Dublin and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Having read all the good reviews of The Merrion we booked our stay. We were not disappointed, every member of staff is a credit to the hotel, they can't do enough for you. Even when the Hurricane hit the Concierge kept an eye on our flight to keep us informed. The rooms are spotless, spacious, the beds super comfy, the little touches in the room were appreciated. Location is perfect and close to shops, pubs. Thank you for a lovely stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karengcole66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was our first and best hotel during our stay in Ireland. I can't say enough about the service- it was truly outstanding. Located near good shopping and museums. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone that asks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrion_Hotel_Dublin, General Manager at The Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to your very kind comments about my colleagues, they endeavour to provide our guests with as relaxing a stay as possible and we are honoured that you chose to stay with us at the start of your trip to Ireland.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Merrion for your next visit!

Thank you again for your kind words

Yours sincerely,

Peter MacCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,565 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.7 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,190 reviews
2.5 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
0.5 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrion Hotel

Address: Upper Merrion Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $389 - $1,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Merrion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion, created from four Georgian townhouses, is located in the city centre opposite government buildings. Many of the 142 bedrooms and suites overlook period landscaped gardens. Guests can dine in the 2-star Michelin restaurant Patrick Guilbaud or The Cellar Restaurant and Bar. The intimate No 23 cocktail bar waits as does the Tethra Spa which boasts an 18m pool, steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and two private treatment rooms. The Merrion offers six private dining and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing