We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, conveniently located, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Brondby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice room, conveniently located, friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Very good experience, and a good locatiion in the outer area of Temple Bar. Very helpful staff. Wi-Fi was a bit slow. Apart form tha every thing were OK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORMAC M, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi Kris,

Thank you for your review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the George Frederic Handel Hotel and you were inpressed with the location. The wi fi has been since updated offering a much improved service and we look forward to hopefully welcomign you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    508
    164
    60
    26
See reviews for
250
389
73
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here 1 night and were glad it was only one. The hotel feels like a 2 star hotel, with the staff being just mediocre. The room was clean, but felt very dated, especially the bathroom. There was slow wi-fi available and our room didnt have a tv remote and it took the staff 10 minutes to get the problem sorted. The only good thing about this hotel is that it is only a 5 minute walk to the Temple Bar area in Dublin.
Stay here only if all the other hotels are booked in the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORMAC M, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, although they were negative, they all help to improve the quality and service that we like to offer. I am most disappointed to read about the "mediocre" staff as customer service is high on our priority at the George Frederic Handel Hotel and I will be addressiing this point at the next staff meeting. Our Wi Fi has since been updates and a full refurbishment of the hotel is currently taking place.

We would love to welcome you back to the George Frderic Handel Hotel in order to change the negatives to a positive and I look forward to hearing from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Inishowen, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I've had another great stay in this hidden gem... a friendly welcome was followed by an immaculate room with a bath....heaven after a busy business day. Wi-fi, tv, comfy bed... bliss!! The staff were more than helpful and friendly...remembered me from my last stay. This is now my 'place to stay in Dublin' for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marimac1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORMAC M, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Lovely to hear from you and delighted that we have became you "place to stay in Dublin". We put customer service high in the list and it is encouraging to receive susch positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel topped our list of the places we ended up staying thru our stay in Ireland. We had a triple room for 2 nights. It was modern, centrally localized, free wi-fi in our rooms and comfy beds! Everything was handled professionally and quickly at check in, friendly and helpful staff at reception area. The bathroom was great but I never got the towel warmer to work. Our room faced the street and was on the 3rd floor. Apart from a gazillion church bells ringing on Sunday morning, we never had any noise issues as some others have mentioned.

It's a great location: Up the block to the left, you are right on a major road with public transport. Its practically right next to Christ Church Cathedral & Dublina. Then down the other side you have the Temple Bar area RIGHT THERE but you are not IN IT. Behind the hotel is Cow Lane which fills up with the tents of crafts people bordered by eclectic shops and small cafes. And you are not even a block away from the river.

By mistake, we left some personal items behind in our room, called after 4 days and they had them! We picked them up on our way back home thru Dublin. We also tried their breakfast one morning and found it nice and adequate, nothing spectacular. Another day we ate at the cafe just outside which was really good!! Giving this place an excellent because by far, it had the best value, comfort and convenience for our money on our entire 10 day trip thru Ireland.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the street & river. Never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORMAC M, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Hi and thank you for your wonderful "Title" and review of the George Frederic Handel Hotel. We pride ourselves on 3 main areas, customer service, location and quality of product and it is nice to see that we ticked all of the boxes during your stay.

Nice to hear that you got your personal belongings back, it is an easy thing to do in hotel rooms as I have experienced it myself!

Once again, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcomign you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Excellent breakfast, really nice reception and a good location. Unfortunately rooms are small, ugly and old. Our room was on the "wrong side" of the hotel...lots of noise between 4 and 6 am.

Room Tip: You better choose a room on the side of the street. The other side you have the carbage cans and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORMAC M, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. As mentioned before, I am delighted to receive negative comments as well as positive ones in order to improve the quality and service that we offer. The bedrooms along with the public areas are currently undergoing refurbishment and we are also looking forward to opening up the bar and restaurant in the near future. I will pass on your comments to the chef and staff and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): $211 - $505
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing