We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merrion Square Outdoor Gallery
Save
Review Highlights
The Stephens green people's art is my title instead

The weekend of the 30th Nov to Dec 2nd there was a people's Art exhibition on Stephens green . How... read more

Reviewed 13 December 2018
Nailer61
Visit to Merrion square outdoor gallery

One of Dublin’s hidden gems. Spent a wonderful afternoon yesterday Sunday, visiting Dublin’s only... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2018
Hamgp
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Read all 26 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dublin
from US$23.12
More Info
from US$34.68
More Info
from US$17.34
More Info
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
12
9
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
9
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display artists artwork browse stroll park
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We greatly enjoyed browsing the art and talking with the artists on the 3 sides of Merrion Square. The artists exhibit on Sundays, starting at 10am. There was an assortment of art, from watercolors of Dublin landmarks to modern pieces. We especially enjoyed talking to the artists, as they gave us many insights into Dublin from a personal perspective. When you get tired of looking at the artwork, go inside the gates of Merrion Square-- the park area has kids' play equipment, walking paths, and benches to rest on. Don't miss the Oscar Wilde statue there either!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Findx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

A leisurely stroll down the outside perimeter of Merion Square, turned out to be an excellent way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon in Dublin. Many local artists display their wares on/against the iron railings of the park, and they are fun to engage with! I loved seeing what was on display - the pries were reasonable , Paul Ryan's work really grabbed me!

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

If you are visiting Dublin, you would not be going to wrong to spend an hour or so here, it is just so nice, beautiful setting, all Georgian and old school, then loads of paintings hanging off a fence of the ornate gardens, really pretty, especially with all the paintings up too.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I visited the Merrion Square in September 2013. Merrion Square is a Georgian garden square laid out in the late 1760's and mostly complete by the early 1800's. It is surrounded on three sides by Georgian homes, and the other side faces government buildings, the Natural History Museum, and the National Gallery.

The park is laid out fairly simply with a lot of trees and shade, but as parks go it (in my opinion similar to St. Stephen's Green but on a much smaller scale) is fairly average. The main reason we had walked through Merrion Square was to the see the vibrant-colored Oscar Wilde Statue lounging there (who had lived in No. 1 Merrion Square from 1855 to 1876. The visitors that seem to go to Merrion Square all tended to be tourists (at least when we visited) -- we saw no locals near the Oscar Wilde statue, either.

Merrion Square park is nothing to spend more than a few minutes at, and after seeing the Oscar Wilde Statue there is not much more to really view. Take a few minutes to visit, and then spend your time elsewhere.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I believe over 200 artists now display their works for sale along the fencing outside Merrion Square on the weekend. If there is good weather for a leisurely stroll on a weekend you can't beat this opportunity to interface with Irish artists. Most are very friendly and prices quite reasonable. Many are geared toward the tourists' need to buy something small enough to pack in a suitcase, so some fairly nice pieces can come home with you to remember your trip to Ireland. Then you can finish off your visit by popping into the corner of the park where Oscar Wilde resides, forever at ease.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank ChiWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews