We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for RDS”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location for RDS”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was in Dublin for a short stay because of a few shows at the RDS Arena. This hotel was perfect for the occasion, as it is within a short and easy walk to and from the arena.

Small rooms, but nicely appointed and mine on the 6th floor was well maintained.
The staff was was nice and helpful.
The bathroom was in very good condition.

Room Tip: A room as high up as possible - mine was on the highest floor of the hotel - is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxisweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear maxisweden,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that you felt the staff were nice and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on another occassion.
Our best regards,
Fiona and all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    258
    126
    48
    19
See reviews for
118
327
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Out of ten locations and two weeks in the UK, this was our only disappointing accommodation. The rooms were minimally appointed with even basic bed linens. We were told when we checked in that our rate did not include breakfast, despite the online promotion and e-mail confirmation. In the room a card announced "complimentary" tea, coffee and cookies, and then when you get downstairs everything is under lock and key and has a cost associated. Lastly, the staff was less than accommodating and friendly. I would not recommend Pembroke Townhouse.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drleebrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear drleebrady,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay - but most of all that you felt staff were not accommodating - we are very sorry that you found that.
We offer complimentary tea / coffee and homemade cookeis room service 24 hours instead of offering room facilities - I am unsure of what you mean by lock and key though? - we do have wine which is locked away in a larder in the lobby, also a kettle for guests who like to help themselves in the lobby... I am sorry if you didn't get to avail of this.
I am concerned too it you say you understood that breakfast was to be included as our website confirmation is computer generated and always says in one has booked a rate to include breakfast, otherwise the rate would be a room only rate... they same would apply to third parties websites too, whom are outside our control....
I would hope that you would give us an chance to stay with us again - if you want to personally email me and I will do my best to look after you.
My best regards,
Fiona and all the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We found this hotel was perfect. The room was spacious, clean and very light. The hotel staff were friendly. We particularly loved the little extra touches -- free tea, coffee and cookies available in the drawing room for the whole length of our stay; plus elderflower juice.

The hotel is not in the city centre but it is a 10 minute walk to St Stephen's Square or there are regular buses. The airport bus lets you off a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Kittyathome,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are so hapy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that you felt the staff were helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on another occassion.
Our best regards,
Fiona and all the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Seriously. Actually there are a lot of reasons to stay here but I've been all over the world and never had a morning spread like that. No wonder they print out recipes and put them on the sideboard because they must get asked for them all the time. As for the hotel, it is very convenient to the airport bus and the hop on hop off bus (and you walk right by a great little Mexican restaurant - who knew you'd find that in Dublin?) and the staff is just lovely. The room was quite nice with very comfortable beds and a spacious clean bathroom that gave me one of the best showers I've ever had travelling (excellent water pressure is a beautiful thing). The price was very reasonable even with the euro to dollar conversion and though someone complained about the funky key, I thought it was fun and just left it with the front desk. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions and made several calls for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGoddessLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear TravelGoddessLA ,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are so hapy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and mostly that you enjoyed our breakfast...I hope you got some of the recipes!!? ...also we are very pleased to hear that you felt the staff were helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on another occassion.
Our warmest regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Had a great three-night stay at the Pembroke Townhouse where we experienced the warmth and friendliness of the staff - from housemaid to manager - and the delightful extra touches - cookies, elderflower cordial on arrival and throughout our stay - tea and cookies brought to our room each morning with a smile - very pleasant bedroom and cozy residents lounge. Excellent breakfasts in a relaxed setting. A very pleasant time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Hi Rosemary M,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
My warmest regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $191 - $417
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing