We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
149
197
87
38
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
197
87
38
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house city centre attic room lounge area double bed dublin airport coffee machine croke park quiet location nice stay top floor min walk guesthouse buses taxi drumcondra receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This B&B could use a update, but the helpful staff was wonderful! A bus can take you into the city and there are plenty of pubs, restaurants and sights within walking distance. It's a reasonably priced place with a helpful staff and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXOOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had the family room for 7 people and I could not fault the service provided for this B&B, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful in everything they did for us.

From booking taxi's, recommending local amenities or knowledge of the public transport system. I was impressed with their attitude and eagerness to ensure we enjoyed our stay at B&B and in Dublin. I would recommend this hotel for groups, couples and even families as they had a large communal area with games etc.

It would be nice if some of the bigger hotel chains in the world offered such a high level of customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelentlessEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Had a wonderful weekend Egan brilliant, very helpful, taxis etc. Had such a good time forgot expensive watch, they contacted us immediately we got home and have forwarded on to Wales. Unbelievable, most bed and breakfasts would have denied knowledge. Many thanks we will return! Bill and Denny

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night and found the hotel excellent . the room was huge , very clean / warm and comfortable . Staff were very helpful and management were on site to offer help with directions and any queries . breakfast was very good and we were facilitated with special gluten free diet without any fuss. the value we got here was staggering ,couldnt believe how recession proof this place this . !!well done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here in January as part of a present from our daughter. It was very central to Glasnevin cemetary which we were visiting. On the plus side it looks lovely from the outside as it is a lovely old character building on a lovely street. The hotel was comfortable and warm with a lovely sitting room area with a television and toys and books and games, our bedroom was clean except for the material headboards which were stained. and I also think that perhaps the decor could do with a bit of updating. Compared to other B&Bs that we have stayed in in Ireland I got the feel that they were trying to make a few extra euro from everything. Firstly the breakfast was a bit mean. The bacon was very cheap streaky bacon, the cereals were supermarket own brands and some of the bread in the basket was hard. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the bedrooms just a machine in the sitting room which charges €2 for a cup of boiling water!!!!! It is €3 per piece of luggage if you want to leave it after check out and collect later (I have never ever heard of this) and €7 to park outside the door which is just beside the street which was free to park in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCMCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for your inputs and positive comments. However, I t is unfair to say that it costs 2 Euro for a cup of boiling water. The expensive and varied tea bags are there to be used with the boiling water. The boiling water for 2€ allows you to have a choice of the following expensive teas: Twinings green tea with pineapple and grapefruit, fresh and fruity raspberry, strawberry and loganberry; Twinings Blosson Earl grey; Twinings revive and revitalise pure peppermint; Twinings pure camomile; Tick Tock geen tea, Tetley tagged tea bag.

We charge very minimal rates for our rooms but then necessarily charge a few euro here and there for items that people want – some want Wi-Fi, some tea/coffee, some private car parking, some want to leave luggage to be stored. All guests are informed on check in that there is a charge of €7 for car parking but that it is free in the street. In other words we try to keep our basic prices as low as possible while charging a few euro her and there for specific items that specific guests want.

I understand that hotels that charge much higher rates can provide everything included. We are constantly trying to give people options in relation to how they spend their money.

It is just completely wrong to state that our cereals are supermarket-own brands. Only one out of our 7 cereals is not a branded product and that is Tesco Fruit and Fibre because it is so popular. Our branded cereals are: Weetabix, Kellogs Corn Flakes/Bran Flakes/CocoPops/Frosties, Flahavens Porridge and finally Alpen.
The streaky bacon is not cheap but it is what people like.

Also we upgraded you from a Double En-suite to a Family En-suite and change the date of the booking free of charge.

Finally, all guests are told at check in to dial zero from their bedroom or come to reception if there is any problem whatsoever. You did not complain at any stage during your stay.

Best wishes.

Pat Finn
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews