We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tara Hall Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited here overnight with my mother last week. It's old, drab, and shabby. The twin room we got was tiny, and the en-suite even tinier. Everything was worn, the carpet was filthy, and the flow on the shower was non-existent. The only saving grace to this place was the cooked breakfast, it was gorgeous. A total rip-off for 80e BandB, for something that was akin to a hostel. Don't go there, honestly.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanfetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at this homely B&B. Margaret couldn't have done any better, giving sound advice and a wealth of knowledge. Always welcoming, she was keen to help any way she could. The breakfast was lovely, fresh and hot, with a nice selection of brown/white toast and some delicious soda bread! Yogurts, fruit and cereals also available in a buffet style.
A lot of the reviews mention that the accommodation is dated and worn. The building itself is steeped in character and history, accessorised with homely furnishings. The room itself was immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. Although small, it too was always spotlessly clean and functional.
I feel it's important to mention that this location and b&b itself is great value for what you pay. Others need to take into consideration that the kind of reviewers who prance about at yacht clubs and moan for a living are doing just that, and don't appreciate the character of a property, well made furniture, homely atmosphere and good old fashioned friendly hospitality. Think those kind of people should go book a few nights in Ikea!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A nice honest bed and breakfast. No frills. I enjoyed company of the hosts. Helped me with directions to local pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. Old house from 18th century not many of them around. If you have time try a swim in the forty foot which is a famous local open sea swimming place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmurphyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

To be honest, after reading the various reviews I was sceptical about staying at Tara Hall, until I arrived.
The rooms are neat and tidy very comfortable. The Internet is wonderful and Margaret wad absolutely wonderful.
It's great value for money. The breakfast is great value. I would stay here again and again. If your looking for the 4 seasons your in the wrong place but I am a fussy person and this was defiantly clean and had everything that is needed for a bed and breakfast. Very pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Garreth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We chose this B&B because we used to live in the area and knew that it was in a pleasant location and convenient to the yacht club where we going to a party.From the price quoted we assumed a pretty decent standard but our disappointment started even before the door was opened. Two rubbish bins in the small front, unkempt garden. Very tired inside, dead flowers on reception table. Poor partitioning in a once elegant house, tired and worn carpeting, broken bedhead in our room, bathroom dreadful, no question of getting in to that bath, no soap! Pieces of mis- matched second hand furniture, etc.,etc. We didn't stay for breakfast although included. In fairness the dining room seemed pleasant enough looking in from the hall. DON'T GO THERE.

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dun Laoghaire hotels
1.3 km away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,151 reviews
2.5 km away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
369 reviews
1.1 km away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
112 reviews
0.7 km away
Claremont House
Claremont House
#13 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
22 reviews
1.4 km away
Mulgrave Lodge
Mulgrave Lodge
#11 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hall Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hall Accommodation

Address: 24 Sandycove Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $115 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hall Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Hall located in Sandycove, near Dun Laoghaire in South Co. Dublin is just minutes walking from the seaside and also one of Dublin's major attractions - the James Joyce Tower. Tara Hall Accommodation is a historical Regency style house which retains many of its original features. Tara Hall is family run and offers the highest quality and standards, offering such amenities as having rooms’ en-suite, cable TV, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary hairdryers, guest sitting room, family rooms and free car parking. A freshly cooked traditional Irish breakfast await you daily. When you stay at Tara Hall you will also be close to Dalkey, Killiney and within easy reach of Co. Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Tara Hall Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hall Accommodation Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing