We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sat evening”
Review of The Forty Foot

The Forty Foot
Ranked #38 of 96 Restaurants in Dun Laoghaire
Price range: US$14 - US$16
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Forty Foot Bar and Grill is located in the heart of Dun Laoghaire with panoramic views of Dun Laoghaire harbour that are beyond compare. The incorporation of the contemporary open fire, polished pewter bar counter, luxurious fabrics, innovative lighting and slick artwork by Terry Bradley creates a modern yet laid back atmosphere. The menu boasts an eclectic mix to tantalize the taste buds! Whether it’s dinner or drinks, the FortyFoot Bar and Grill has something for everyone. We have a vast selection of worldwide beers and an irresistible cocktail menu.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Went to the forty foot three years ago when on a visit to Dublin.Wasnt very impressed when you go to a pub what do you expect.Beer! No all the ale pumps were being cleaned at the same time,and it was a bank holiday.So we thought we would give it another try.There was six ales on the pumps which were either very citrusly (lemon or grapefruit tasting) or they were strong ales 5 or 6% proof..I did find an ale which was drinkable but this was attached to a cider pump.I can’t remember it’s name but a customer told me it was from cork.Along the bar there was six more ales coming soon which had better variety of proofs and tastes which should have been mixed in with was being served.They were also advertising that this was a beer festival .Its an ok place if you like lager

Thank patmcaveety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Didn't eat here but really cheap for drinks €6.80 for a pint and bottle of beer I had to say pardon!!!!! For dublin that is amazing. Big crowd obviously because of the prices

Thank Digsy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

They messed up our orders and we lost €20 which they wouldn't give back. They gave us a burnt pizza that we payed extra for even though it was in our order and their chips are not good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juliejulie12336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Was waiting to be served at least 20 min , was totally ignored by the floor staff and the place wasn’t even busy ... then I just walked out the door. There are many other places in DunLaoghaire where you can leave your money and get good service! Avoid!!!

Thank JakoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We were in Dunlaoghaire for the Ukulele Hooley Weekend we visited the Forty Foot on the Saturday evening and for breakfast on the Sunday morning. The decor and setting is lovely at the Forty Foot the drink and food are very reasonable - it's quite basic as is the service but if you are looking for cheap food and drink this is the place. We went for breakfast the following day which was also cheap and cheerful we had coffee on the veranda looking over the pier and it was lovely. They could do with cleaning the tables more often they were all sticky but it served our purpose very well.

Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks for taking time to review our pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forty Foot also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to The Forty Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing