We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Forty Foot

The Forty Foot
Ranked #44 of 95 Restaurants in Dun Laoghaire
Price range: US$14 - US$16
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Forty Foot Bar and Grill is located in the heart of Dun Laoghaire with panoramic views of Dun Laoghaire harbour that are beyond compare. The incorporation of the contemporary open fire, polished pewter bar counter, luxurious fabrics, innovative lighting and slick artwork by Terry Bradley creates a modern yet laid back atmosphere. The menu boasts an eclectic mix to tantalize the taste buds! Whether it’s dinner or drinks, the FortyFoot Bar and Grill has something for everyone. We have a vast selection of worldwide beers and an irresistible cocktail menu.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Tried this place out with my wife Monday night Nice warm atmosphere with friendly staff very Good value too for this area good ordering system and quick service we both had the chicken trio and were good helpings our waitress aleshi was very helpful and friendly she told us she was from Poland and only was working there a short while but I can say she is an ambassador for this restaurant and very friendly will be back here

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We regularly go here for breakfast or dinner. The menu is standard across the UK and Ireland and the quality of food is always consistent. There is a massive amount of variety and lots of vegetarian options. This is a very good option if you want more than a fast food outlet but not the expense of other modest restaurants. When I order breakfast that comes with fried eggs I generally ask for poached eggs instead and there is never a problem or hesitation. I like that flexibility. The staff are almost all pleasant and attentive (but some do lack the personal touches of getting to know your name or engaging in a bit of small talk). At busy times the tables do tend to pile up with glasses and delph so maybe a bit of attention there could improve the look. For me it's not a quiet pint and read of the paper type place the place but many do.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Very bad experience. We had to go back to the bar three times to order, as they were out of food for each order we wanted. Had to queue each time.
Bacon brie burger had only one tiny piece of bacon on it. Veggie burger was so over-cooked it could be used to break a window. The buns on both burgers weren't toasted, and were greasy and doughy. No lettuce or onion on both burgers, just tomato. Only told when we queried that they were also out of lettuce and tomato.. Didn't tell us when we ordered. Seriously, could a member of staff not go to the local shop and get some?
Cheese sauce (side) was crusty, like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for ages.
Staff were rude, and offered no apologies for lack of dressings on the burgers. Both burgers didn't taste great. Would definitely not recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank laner666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We had a couple of drinks here and found it to be great value. There were lots of students in (probably attracted by the drinks deals) so there was a good atmosphere.

Thank Beanie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thanks for taking time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Went to the forty foot three years ago when on a visit to Dublin.Wasnt very impressed when you go to a pub what do you expect.Beer! No all the ale pumps were being cleaned at the same time,and it was a bank holiday.So we thought we would give it another try.There was six ales on the pumps which were either very citrusly (lemon or grapefruit tasting) or they were strong ales 5 or 6% proof..I did find an ale which was drinkable but this was attached to a cider pump.I can’t remember it’s name but a customer told me it was from cork.Along the bar there was six more ales coming soon which had better variety of proofs and tastes which should have been mixed in with was being served.They were also advertising that this was a beer festival .Its an ok place if you like lager

Thank patmcaveety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jdwdutymanager, Manager at The Forty Foot, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forty Foot also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to The Forty Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing