We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little extras and front desk are so important”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Usual amenities of a three star but also with good location--a short walk to center of the pedestrian street with pubs, restaurants and shops. The attentive front desk did not hesitate to move me to another room when I was dissatisfied with the first room—the dormer skylights prevented any view except sky and would not close properly. Second room had a partial view of the harbor and parking lot but was also quieter. Front desk also arranged for an emergency dental visit. A laundromat was ½ block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with normal windows, off the street and with a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to provide such a nice review, it is a pleasure to share you kind words with our team and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dominik Sietnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

As a family of 5 we booked 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly. We stayed on the 2nd level concierge floor. My only complaint was that we were located on the street side, hoping for views of the water but got a VERY noisy street. This made it difficult for the kids to sleep. Because there is no air conditioner, keeping the window open is the only option for comfortable room temperatures.
I would stay here again but would be sure not to book a street view

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Familytravelorx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one. Please accept apologies with regards to level of the noise from the street.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominik Sietnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Good rooms, great front-desk and service staff, and an excellent location close to central Galway. We were generally pleased with our stay at Harbour Hotel except for the lack of A/C, which meant we needed to keep our windows open during the night. As we had a street-side, first floor room, there was quite a bit of street noise. During our final night, there were two parties in the bar/restaurant just below our open windows, with the excessive noise lasting until 2:00 AM, Very unpleasant that night!

Room Tip: high floor away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_Langhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such close proximity to the city centre and all that Galway has to offer. We are disappointed to read that you encountered some issues with noise levels during your last night. We can only apologise and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future and to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards
Dominik Sietnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

just a few minutes walk to city centre.... just recently renovated to a very high standard.. loved the sea chowder for brunch and the mrs had the fish and chips which she said... was the best fish and chips she has ever had... staff were excellent and the place was spotless new and modern.... such a choice at breakfast ... so many things on offer .. loved the new look of the room and easy access in and out of the town,,,will defo be back...loved it

Room Tip: right on the edge of town,,700 mts to main stree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toconnor2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to mention some of your highlights in your review. With all of our guests, we strive to offer a warm and friendly welcome and excellent service. We will pass on your kind words to the team and look forward very much to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Dominik Sietnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The location of this hotel is very convenient for both sightseeing and to access the train or coach station. There's an included free breakfast that has a great variety of options, including some amazing brown bread. The rooms are large, clean and fairly new. (Ours had one slight issue with a leaky/clogged bathroom sink, and a slightly aged bathtub.) As others have mentioned, the showers did take us a bit to work out (in case you're in the hotel right now, trying to work them out, as I was, the left knob controls the temperature, the right knob controls the water, and to switch to the shower, pull down on the end of the faucet.) The staff is very personable and friendly, although the restaurant seems to be constantly understaffed, meaning there is sometimes a bit of a wait to get seated/served. Would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourHGalway, Operations Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, both positive and negative, constructive feedback is always welcomed as it offers us the opportunity to better understand our guest expectations, and to determine the areas that need improvement.
We hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy some of the same and see if we can improve our bathrooms and service.

Kind Regards
Dominik Sietnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,107 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,897 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,376 reviews
0.6 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
942 reviews
4 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway H91 E9PR, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $132 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the 4 star Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing