We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic and charming family run hotel!”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I really like this place because it is not like one of the many chain hotels or standardised hotels that resemble the interior of Ikea and have generic "boutique" hotel fittings. The Ardilaun has it's own uniqueness with an old world charm, sensibility and character. It possesses what I would describe as a certain 'genteelness'. It even has a few older traditional type waiters and waitresses of the old school who are the model of efficiency, calmness and subdued courteousness. The Ardilaun has got that family run feel to it as well. Hard to articulate, but there is a nice feel to the place.
I've stayed here a few times over the years on my sejourns to Galway and I find it to be quiet, relaxing and calm.( Not a place to stay if you are on the lash in Galway! Having said that, you are not too far from the city centre so as to enjoy all its sultry delights, but you are far enough away to have peace and quiet after the hectic night of carousing)
I like the lounge area; very relaxing to sit and read or chat, and they serve tea or coffe in silver pots! The staff are very friendly, chatty and helpful. On one stay, the barman chatted to me and introduced me to a few locals at the bar which was great as I was travelling alone. Ended up skulling a few and having a great oul yarn. They serve a decent breakfast with a nice fry. The food is good, if a little pricey. I love the leisure centre there, which is another reason I stay here. However, some of the rooms are a bit small and the views from some of them are not great at all.
One quibble is that I find the rates to be a little expensive, and feel they could give a better rate especially if it is a Tuesday night in October or November, but then, guess, this an issue with every hotel in Ireland. Personally, I don't think the higher rates at certain times are worth it for what you get, but it seems all hotels in Galway charge higher rates at certain times.
All in all, I highly recommend the hotel for a quiet, relaxing,comforable and subdued stay or if you need a relaxing break in a city. (I've never stayed when there has being a wedding or function on, so don't sue me if you are kept awake by drunken singing at 4am!! lol). Seriously thought, it is a lovely hotel at the right price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear 'Bruler68',

You are very kind to post such a detailed review following your stay with us - we are truely grateful to you - Thank You. We are so glad that this was your experience with us.

On St. Patricks Day in 2012 we will celebrate our 50th Anniversary - a celebration we very much look forward to. Since 17 March 1962 The Ardilaun Hotel has been owned and managed by the Ryan family who are local to Galway. Throughout the years we have grown in every way and, although the hotel has increased in size a number of times over the years, it has always been important to us that we maintain the 'home away from home' feel for our guests whilst continuously aiming for the highest of standards and quality in every area.

We are always very mindful that many people take breaks throughout the year in Ireland. Bearing this, and the current economic climate, in mind we offer the very best rates that we can at all times. Also, at all times throughout the year we have a 'Special Offers' page on our website which is updated regularly. We are delighted to offer these rates so please feel free to have a look at our special offers when planning your next visit.

Thank you again. We hope that we will welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,221 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had our wedding celebrations here in July, 2011 and we couldn't have been happier. The staff provided top class service, especially Maureen who helped us throughout the planning and was there on the day to make sure everything went perfectly. All other staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The meal on the wedding night was really tasty, and many of our guests commented on the high quality of it. We stayed for two nights in the honeymoon suite, and it is one of the nicest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. We also ate from the bar menu, which was great too.
We will definitely be back and will recommend it to anyone getting married in the Galway area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Nick & Leonie,

Thank you again for booking The Ardilaun as the venue for your very special celebration. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your day with us and that you have such fond memories.

It was our pleasure to have worked with you and had you as our guests.

We very much look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again in the future.

Wishing you all the very best for a long, healthy and fun-filled life together.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

From the moment we were greeted by Barbara on reception until we waved goodbye, this family had a wonderful stay at the Airdilaun.

Good food, great service, a kids club loved by our five year old son and a lovely family room.What more could you ask for?

See you next year!

Anna-Marie, George and Matthew Howard

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_marie258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Anna-Marie, George and Matthew,

Thank you so much for your post. It is always lovely for us to know that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in 2012 - when we will celebrate our 50th Anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our family spent an over night there in August 2011 . First impressions were of an old world hotel as we drove up the driveway. Its an excellent combination of the old world and the modern. The garden room is superb old world style, but the hotel is very modern.
Only had breakfast in it and it was superb with helpful friendly staff.
Leisure centre was very clean and changing room was immaculate.
On leaving, our greatest impression was of the staff particularly the receptionists who volunteered info to us without having to ask. They also showed great flexibility.
This type of friendly, helpful,can do approach is what made Ireland a great destination. Unfortunately it diappeared for a few years and its reassuring that we again experienced the authentic Irish welcome in the Ardilaun. Keep it up !!
Gerry Dundalk

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colloure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Gerry,

Thank you so much. We really are absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us recently and we are very grateful to you for having taken the time to post your review.

We very much look forward to the possibility of welcoming you all back to stay with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I was responsible for booking a group of 17 adults and teenagers who were attending a sporting event in Galway last weekend. From the time of my initial enquiry to the Hotel - Kate in accommodation was just fantastic - any request I had was immediately attended to. The Staff at Reception and in the Restaurant were equally accommodating. Breakfast normally commences at 7.30 but we were facilitated at 7.15 with full buffet and all the wonderful pastries and fruits they had to offer. Unfortunately I did not have time to visit the leisure center or Avalon treatment rooms. To me this was hospitality at its best and made our visit very enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel for a stress free visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Dear Nicola,

Thank you so much for your lovely review here on tripadvisor. We are truely grateful that you have taken the time.

We are deligthed that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Your lovely comments have been brought to the attention of each department in the hotel.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,141 reviews
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,438 reviews
5.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,773 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $98 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing