We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB SERVICE - THE AUTHENTIC IRISH WELCOME”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We recently celebrated our parent’s 50th wedding anniversary at the Ardilaun Hotel, We had booked a private room for dinner and dancing for 48 guests. Although the hotel was busy with a large wedding and christening that evening, the level of service we received from the moment we arrived was outstanding. The food was fantastic, but what impressed me most was the warmth and friendliness of the service. Ann-Marie in sales helped us with all the preparations, offering advice and suggestions, Maureen and Nizib were superb on the night, ensuring the evening went without a hitch. If you want to celebrate an event where you can be sure of genuine interest and attention, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Ardilaun Hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank kmcd114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear 'kmcd114',

We are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your celebrations with us recently. Thank you for having booked with us.

Feedback is very important to us and your very kind comments have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmenst Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,152 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

With a huge, comfortable bedroom, big bathroom, very good staff, great breakfast, lovely dinner & bar, it would be fair to say that this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in.
Parking was no problem (& free) in the very big outdoor carpark. The man at reception ensured that check in was super smooth, friendly & effortless. My non smoking room on the 2nd floor was a jaw dropper. Really, really big & roomy & with an earthy colour scheme. Nothing but positives.Bathroom huge and gorgeous big bath and seperate shower.
Food in this hotel is outstanding and breakfast is the best i've tasted anywhere. The bar was nicely decorated, had comfortable seating & a good, friendly atmosphere.
Checking out was as effortless & friendly as checking in had been.
We also went to both the Spa and leisure club. The pool, sauna, steam room and jaquzzi were very relaxing and not over crowded. The spa was lovely, both of us got a massage and the lady was lovely and made you feel very relaxed.
This hotel is ideal for a break away for couples and families. Beautiful surrounding and really homely feel. Modern but very cosy and very reasonably priced in the heart of Galway City. i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear 'ducky18',

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us recently and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit.

We are very grateful to you for having taken the time to post your review here on tripadvisor and for your recommendation to others.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A very homely well run hotel. Food excellent and attention to detail in all areas apparent.Maureen Walsh on the ball when spotting new comers and goes out of her way to make sure everything is up to standard and everybody is happy. The reception is very well run and they are experienced in dealing with all queries.The hotel is in a beautiful location and close to Salthill and city centre. The children had a great time in the pool and the kids menu has a great selection including pizza.

Room Tip: If they have a wedding make sure the room is the other end of hotel as the guests can be singing etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LornaLoyalCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear 'LornaLoyalCustomer',

We are very thankful to you for your review and really are thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back as our guests again soon.

Best Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you are the kind of person that likes a homogenised hotel you know the sort lots of tiles, beige furniture staff whose first language is not English and a fee for everything then this is not the place for you. It is a traditional hotel with a busy lobby, proper bar and food whose description matches its quality without the pretensions of other modern hotel. It’s room lay out is a little higgly piggly but it is built around an old family home so enjoy it. It is fair to say all rooms are not equal but all are real. Sometimes it is just nice to stay in a proper building not some upgraded industrial unit with attentive staff and human activity rather than soulless prepacked experiences of other hotels in the sector. Well done Aridlaun House Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel with garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussyguest122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear 'Fussyguest122',

Thank you. What a really lovely review. We are delighted to receive your feedback.

We are grateful to you for having chosen to stay with us and we look forward to the possibility of having you as our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here during March with my wife and daughter. Restaurant food was excellent, nice bar, great service and very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend and will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marym2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear 'Marym2012',

We are sincerely grateful to you for your very kind review but, most important, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank You

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,141 reviews
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,440 reviews
5.2 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,775 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $98 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing