We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of The Ardilaun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ardilaun Hotel
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 20 November 2017

My wife and I had our wedding reception in The Ardilaun Hotel on October 20th this year. We had very high expectations of the hotel from the start and we certainly weren't disappointed. Our initial dealings with the hotel were extremely positive. They were a delight to deal with. Their wedding coordinator Maureen Walsh is quite simply a woman who excels at her job. Nothing was too much trouble and I would describe them as being very fair in our negotiations with them. The room rate we negotiated for our guests was much more reasonable than other hotels of a similar quality we had spoken to. We felt at the time we got very good value on our wedding meal per head. I would now say we got excellent value. The Ardilaun have recruited a Michelin star winning chef in the last year and you can really see his stamp of excellence on the food there. Many of our wedding guests commented that it was the nicest quality wedding meal they had ever had, and some of those wouldn't be too easily pleased normally. The chef Ultan was on hand to give recommendations as to what he thought would work well in terms of the menu before our menu tasting, and we were glad to take his expertise and advice on board. The braised featherblade of beef was exceptional. The rest of our meal was excellent as well.
It might seem like a small thing, but any time we were in the hotel, every member of staff knew us by name, be it the owner, general manager or any other member of staff. They took time to say hello and greet us. Small things like that mean a lot and we really got the feeling our custom was valued. Many of our guests commented on how nice the staff were on the day. They were courteous, friendly and professional at all times. The bar was very well staffed. We had a large wedding of 340 guests and there were no long queues for drink at the bar. The hotel were also very fair with the length of time they kept the residents' bar open that night. No one went thirsty, that's for sure!

The reception when we entered the hotel was very nice, as was the finger food, both upon arrival and later in the evening. The sparkling wine they serve upon arrival to the hotel is very nice also.

Overall, we felt we got a flawless service. We couldn't fault anything about the hotel on the day, or in any of our dealings with them. We can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear John,

Thank you so much for your lovely Review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your stay here in The Ardilaun Hotel.
We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the service provided by our wonderful Staff. We will pass on your lovely feedback to our team.

Once again Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun in the future. For the best rates book direct on our website or by calling +353 91 521 433

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed in a family room, double bed and 2 singles. Room was quite small but thats to be expected with that amount of beds. Hotel decor itself was quite dated and old fashioned, I know (according to signs in the lift) that the second floor is being updated so maybe the same is being planned for the remainder of the hotel, which is no harm. We ate lunch in the bar after check in and service was very slow and food was only average. Tried for a long time to catch the eye of a member of staff to ask for the bill, in the end we went to the bar to pay at the till and while there a staff member was complaining to another member of staff that she wanted her break. Just takes away from the professionalism a little bit. Good positive was the WiFi which stayed strong in the room and kept teenagers happy. Feel harsh leaving 3 stars but stay was only average.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and your feedback regarding the hotel and our team. We are very disappointed to read your comments regarding our service. We would love the opportunity to speak to you. Please do contact us on 091 521 433 or email our Front Office Manager: cboyd@theardilaunhotel.ie to discuss your experience in a greater detail.

We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Words don't do justice to the incredible hospitality provided by the Ardilaun Hotel during our August wedding. Right from the first meeting to the final handshake the staff bent-over-backwards to accommodate our needs and ensure everything went perfectly to plan on the big day. Maureen, the wedding planner, was a pleasure to deal with. Her years of experience shone through, providing us with the reassurance that everything was under control and no detail would be left unattended. The entire process was managed to perfection meaning a stress-free experience on our wedding day.

The food was absolutely divine, gaining compliments for all our guests. Everything was served on time, without delay, thus providing a smooth transition between the meal and the band. The grounds of the hotel provide a perfect back-drop for some extra special wedding photographs, and in the evening sun it provides the most intimate area for a drinks reception.

If I had any regret, it would be that we couldn't do it all over again. You can be guaranteed an incredible reception by booking with Maureen and the Ardilaun Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deenihaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your thoughts on your recent experience of the Ardilaun Hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, wedding reception and the service provided by our awards winning staff. Thank you for all your kind words regarding our team here in the hotel. We will make sure that our wedding coordinator Maureen and her team are aware of your lovely feedback. We are glad we made your experience memorable.

Once again thank you for your kind words and congratulations. We look forward to welcoming you back as a guest in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Perhaps this hotel was nice 15 years ago but it feels like a very dated hotel struggling to function properly. There is also construction work at present.
If you find a good deal ok but unless it’s in special there are better options

Stayed: November 2017
Thank travelexpert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and your feedback regarding the hotel and our team. We are very disappointed to read your comments regarding our service. We would love the opportunity to speak to you. Please do contact us on 091 521 433 or email our Front Office Manager: cboyd@theardilaunhotel.ie to discuss your experience in a greater detail.

We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

I stayed at the hotel in May as part of a hen party. For such a large group of us check in was very efficient. The front desk team were well prepared for us and throughout our stay were so helpful with anything we needed. We booked dinner at the hotel for the group and service was outstanding. I must say a huge thank you to the chef that took the time to create a wonderful vegan menu for me. Real effort was put into it as the food I got was not the typical veg stir fry I would get elsewhere. I had the option of a delicious 3 course vegan menu. I appreciated it so much. So much so I will defiantly return to the hotel to try some more of their amazing food.

The rooms were spacious and relaxing. The view of the grounds was beautiful. WiFi connection was excellent through out the hotel.

I think this hotel is the definition of Irish hospitality at its best. Really looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lily2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDNORyan123, Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely Review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your stay here in The Ardilaun Hotel.
We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the service provided by our wonderful Staff. We will pass on your lovely feedback to our team.

Once again Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ardilaun in the future. For the best rates book direct on our website or by calling +353 91 521 433

Kind regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,141 reviews
1.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,440 reviews
5.2 km away
No photo provided
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,775 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardilaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardilaun Hotel

Address: Taylors Hill House 2 Taylors Hill Road, Galway H91 YV5Y, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $98 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ardilaun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ardilaun is a family owned hotel, newly refurbished to a 4**** standard, Ideally located amongst spacious private grounds, minutes from city centre. 125 Luxurious bedrooms to include garden rooms and unique suites. Comfortable spacious lounges, award-winning "Camilaun Restaurant" and superb leisure club with its 18m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gymnasium. Beauty salon on site. Conferencing facilities for up to 650 delegates. Complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ardilaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing