We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$193
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sea-Breeze Lodge(Galway)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$281
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$139
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranhill Lodge(Oranmore)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snoozles Hostel(Galway)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,767)
Filter reviews
3,767 results
Traveller rating
2,552
745
327
90
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,552
745
327
90
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalway baythe lobster pot restaurantharvest cafedan murphytop classsea viewkids clubwedding venuewedding receptionleisure centrewould highly recommend this hotelfrom start to finishstaff were so friendlyfood was lovelygreat weekendfantastic hotelboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 3,767 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Galway Bay Hotel loved by all, adults and children. Great location. Staff always really friendly and helpful. Service in restaurant in evening can be a bit slow but everything else was great. We have gone back for a few days every summer for years thats the best recommendation you can give.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annemariekelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Managing Director at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Anne Marie,

Thank you very much for your kind review and positive feedback.

It's a joy to read about guests who continuously choose to stay with us in Galway. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending us as a great place to stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

This is probably the most modern and least stuffy hotel I stayed in during my trip to Ireland...and I stayed in 6 hotels. The whole quaint/old-fashioned thing is lovely but this was a nice change of pace from that atmosphere.

The staff was very helpful too. Our tour guide gave them our bags to bring to our room and they somehow went to someone else's room but the staff was very helpful in regard to this matter, and just in general. The breakfast buffet was great and the location is beautiful: right across from the bay and within walking distance of shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dmcalister813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Managing Director at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly are blessed with our location. Thank you for recommending us as a great place to stay.

Hopefully we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We arrived during the busiest week of the year in Galway, with the Races in full swing. That meant room prices were hiked to a premium (with some discussion around town as to how to limit what some referred to as price gauging). The hotel overlooked the Bay, service was excellent, and the shuttle bus to the Races worked perfectly - at a very reasonable fare. A great place to stay, but if you aren't coming for the races, then avoid Race Week in Galway.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor with a Bay view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Managing Director at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Good hotel, close to all bars and restaurants in Salthill. Have stayed there a few times for work in Galway. Good breakfast with a wide selection, pity it doesn't open at 7.00 but understand it is mainly a tourist hotel. Bar is fine if a little bit manufactured. Rooms are big and comfortable, try to get a sea view!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Managing Director at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a lovely review.

I always hope all our guests enjoy their stay and judging by your positive feedback it looks like you did.

Hopefully we will see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for a quick bite to eat. Ordered toasted sandwiches in the cafe/carvery area and informed the staff we would be sat in the foyer. No food arrived after a long wait so we went to enquire,were told they couldn't find us and were handed a tray with our cold toasties and brown side salads. No waiting staff had come into the foyer as we were all waiting and watching. I returned mine to be reheated but it was beyond redemption.
The cafe staff seemed completely disinterested.
The only saving grace was a newly wed handing out some delicious wedding cake!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank foggyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M, Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear foggy,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this review- however I am extremely disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay visit here.

We are renowned for the fantastic food, attentive service and overall enjoyable experience that guests receive when they dine with us and so I am saddened that you didn't enjoy these aspects of our offering.

I would love the opportunity to communicate with you directly on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com and would hope that you will return to us again in the future.

Many thanks,

Dan Murphy
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews